Snappy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2004
The best green bean recipe ever! I use Louis Rich Turkey Bacon cooked in the microwave and saute my onions in olive oil to cut down on the fat content. Even my 1 year old granddaughter loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Saint Louis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Greenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
My husband really liked these, but I made them into a "cold" dish. I used fresh green beans, "garlic red wine vinegar" and also added minced garlic. I also used already cooked bacon to eliminate some fat and then steamed everything together in my microwave, let it cool & served. Nice easy side, thanks Casey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
This is an awesome recipe that my neighbor makes every year for our annual holiday get-together. It's always the first to go! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I could eat this all day, but definitely use fresh, steamed green beans and red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This is a simple recipe for excellant beans. I used beans from my garden and cut up the bacon into small pieces before frying it. It was a hit with my company that I had for dinner. Will definately make again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I was looking for something a little different and this recipe fit the bill. Excellent way to use up some green and yellow beans from my garden. I steamed them first then proceeded with the rest of the recipe. I added a little minced garic with the onions and also used red wine vinegar. Sprinkled sliced almonds on top before serving. Husband and I both loved this dish and will make again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
Our family loved this recipe--used one lb. package of Trader Joe's frozen haricot verts, steamed. Cut up six slices of pre-cooked bacon and sauteed with one chopped onion in a little olive oil then added red wine vinegar, kosher salt, freshly ground pepper and the beans. Very little effort for a new and delicious taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Yum! I agree with other reviewers - halve the bacon and it's good, otherwise too greasy. I also used red wine vinegar - nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
My husband grew up eating a recipe called "Sour Beans," but no one seems to know how to make it anymore. I have searched and searched for a way to replicate it and I found it here! I usually use fresh or frozen green beans and have great luck. I made it for Easter and now MY family wants the recipe. It is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
Excellent! The only thing I did differently was to add some slivered almonds to the mix. I also used fresh beans out of our garden. I'm making it again tonight and skipping the bacon. Although it was good I don't think the beans needed them. I'm going to saute the onions in a little margarine and use seasoned salt for flavoring. I'll still add in the almonds because the extra crunch is great. Such a nice alternative to boring boiled beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States