Snappy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I could eat this all day, but definitely use fresh, steamed green beans and red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
I did this receipe for Thanksgiving Dinner as I was asked to bring a "green" veggie..I did use Frozen Green beans, and micowaved them w/ the bacon onion/vinegar it was quick/easy and Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
My husband really liked these, but I made them into a "cold" dish. I used fresh green beans, "garlic red wine vinegar" and also added minced garlic. I also used already cooked bacon to eliminate some fat and then steamed everything together in my microwave, let it cool & served. Nice easy side, thanks Casey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Overall the taste on this recipe was great. I made one change and would recommend making one other. Instead of canned beans I used raw fresh beans out of the garden. Very good and crispy. I would recommend not to saute the onions in bacon grease. My husband of course, being a man, loved it, but I thought it was just a bit too heavy and greasy. I'll definately make it again though, minus the bacon grease!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Tasty & healthy- if you make it my way! Saute' onions in a little olive oil. ( I only used half the amount.) Add vinegar, then green beans. Next add 6 T. bacon bits. Heat through- not greasy at all this way. It's tart with the vinegar- we liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I made mine with fresh green beans, red wine vinegar, bacon with just a little grease (just enough to barely cover the bottom of the skillet), onion and fresh minced garlic. I needed to add a little water about half way thru to finish cooking the beans, but OH BABY was it good when it was done! I only gave it 4 stars because it was amazing with changes... as written, it's 4 stars, how I made it it's 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Carper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
The best green bean recipe ever! I use Louis Rich Turkey Bacon cooked in the microwave and saute my onions in olive oil to cut down on the fat content. Even my 1 year old granddaughter loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Saint Louis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Greenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
This is an awesome recipe that my neighbor makes every year for our annual holiday get-together. It's always the first to go! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I was looking for something a little different and this recipe fit the bill. Excellent way to use up some green and yellow beans from my garden. I steamed them first then proceeded with the rest of the recipe. I added a little minced garic with the onions and also used red wine vinegar. Sprinkled sliced almonds on top before serving. Husband and I both loved this dish and will make again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I was not too smitten with this. My husband actually disliked it because of the onion (even though I only used half). I cooked the bacon in the microwave, like one of the reviews suggested, but I think now that that was a mistake and the dish needs the flavor from the bacon grease. I also used red wine vinegar and I added some minced garlic as suggested, and I think that is definitely the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States