Snappy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
Used frozen Italian green beans. This was okay. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Overall the taste on this recipe was great. I made one change and would recommend making one other. Instead of canned beans I used raw fresh beans out of the garden. Very good and crispy. I would recommend not to saute the onions in bacon grease. My husband of course, being a man, loved it, but I thought it was just a bit too heavy and greasy. I'll definately make it again though, minus the bacon grease!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
Excellent! The only thing I did differently was to add some slivered almonds to the mix. I also used fresh beans out of our garden. I'm making it again tonight and skipping the bacon. Although it was good I don't think the beans needed them. I'm going to saute the onions in a little margarine and use seasoned salt for flavoring. I'll still add in the almonds because the extra crunch is great. Such a nice alternative to boring boiled beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
The best green bean recipe ever! I use Louis Rich Turkey Bacon cooked in the microwave and saute my onions in olive oil to cut down on the fat content. Even my 1 year old granddaughter loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Saint Louis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Greenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
My husband grew up eating a recipe called "Sour Beans," but no one seems to know how to make it anymore. I have searched and searched for a way to replicate it and I found it here! I usually use fresh or frozen green beans and have great luck. I made it for Easter and now MY family wants the recipe. It is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
fabulous! i cooked the bacon in a skillet sprayed with pam, blotted it between paper towels, wiped out the skillet before sauteing the onions. presto. no grease! and we used balsamic vinegar for a tangy kick. this is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I thought this was just average. Not great. Maybe I did it wrong. It wasn't bad but maybe I should have used fresh green beans (although it asks for canned) and I used the white vinegar but someone suggested red wine vinegar instead. It was also a tad greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Yum! I agree with other reviewers - halve the bacon and it's good, otherwise too greasy. I also used red wine vinegar - nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
Our family loved this recipe--used one lb. package of Trader Joe's frozen haricot verts, steamed. Cut up six slices of pre-cooked bacon and sauteed with one chopped onion in a little olive oil then added red wine vinegar, kosher salt, freshly ground pepper and the beans. Very little effort for a new and delicious taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Green beans were good but there was too much bacon grease for my taste. Cut it down to two slices. Added two cans instead of one. Vinegar did add a new twist though. Threw in some toasted sesame seeds for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macclenny, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States