Smushed Apples and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
All I have to say is YUMMMMMM. I am a picky sweet potato eater, and all I USED to like was my Granny's sweet potatoes made with orange juice. This was even better in my opinion. I used brown sugar on top, as I like it sweet, and it was just right! My son (13 mos)is a really picky eater and he even ate it. My hubby loved it too. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I would serve this dish rather than the traditional sweet potato casseroles! The flavor is perfect though there isn't as much sugar as most pies. My husband (not a big fan of sweet potatoes) said, "This tastes like pie! and ate a large helping." I prepared the dish and sprinkled a spoonful of brown sugar, raisins, and dried cranberries on top, then placed it in a warm oven to melt the sugar. I can haardly wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone LOVED it. I should have doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Great recipe for sweet potatoes & oh so easy. Really will please the ones that like something sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holliday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waverly, New York, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
So good! I added pecans, brown sugar and a sprinkling of marshmallows on top and baked it a little in the oven, but it's a great recipe without those extras as well. A very durable side dish or even dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I added squash as well to this recipe. A great one for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
I made this tonite to go with meatloaf and broccoli. It was very good, next time I make it I will cut the apples slices in half. Smaller pieces will make the apples cook a lot faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Everyone raved about these sweet potatoes. I topped it with marshmallows and all the kids liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This sweet potato recipie was incredibly easy and "oh my god" delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I found this recipe delightful, light but flavorful...and not too overbearing. A good choice trying to get veggies into kids. I topped it with pecans (maybe too many but I love them) but probably wouldn't bother next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States