Smushed Apples and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This was good but more like a dessert than a side dish! I thought it had too much cinnamon in it but otherwise it was quite delicious. My 4 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
A good start but not what I was expecting. Will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
MMMM! I didn't have any butter, but this was fine without it. Added some pure maple syrup at the end. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Love it! Even people who didn't like sweet potatoes ate some and liked it. I made it for Thanksgiving and Christmas. It will be one of my holiday dishes for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltlhmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Pretty good! I put a good a good helping of brown sugar in in and a little nutmeg with the cinnamon and the flavor was just lovely. Didn't have granny smith so i used some kind of french apples.. texture was a bit stringy for some reason, but I still might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Yummy and healthy! To take it one step further, I peeled the apples and diced them and added 1/3 cup applesauce to the apple/sugar mixture. Once everything was put together in a casserole dish, I sprinkled a packet of Maple Brown Sugar instant oatmeal on top. I sprinkled cinnamon on top of that and covered the top in little pieces of butter. I baked it in the oven at 375 for 1 hour and oh my it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Wow, I loved this recipe! Makes eating your vegetables a real treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Love the flavor. I'm glad to finally find a recipe like this that does NOT have marshmallows on top. I love to make lots & lots of this & have the extra for lunch time side dishes during the work week. ONLY DOWN SIDE is that even though the food is literally STEAMING when served, it gets cold really quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made this for my family who doesn't like sweet potatoes. They loved it!!This definitely will go on the "make again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
While no substitute for my mother-in-law's decadent-more-sugar-than-pumpkin-pie recipe for sweet potato souffle, this is a great weeknight alternative and much, much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States