Smushed Apples and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
The whole family loved. Just make sure to mash it all up and I think the butter is a real key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Easy to make and delicious. Relatively nutritious too, if you take it easy on the butter. I pared it down to only make 3 servings, and had to use a Fiji apple and pumpkin pie spice in place of allspice, but aside from that I followed the recipe, and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This is a nice twist on sweet potatoes from the normal sweet potatoes with marshmallows. I decided to use brown sugar in place of white sugar, I prefer brown sugar's sweetness. I used one green granny smith apple. As for simmering the apple slices, it took me almost 13 minutes on simmer and when I used a fork to pierce the apples it still had a slight firmness. I used my mixer to blend majority of potatoes, adding a little milk. I went ahead and took the advice from other reviewers and placed them together in a glass 8 x8 inch glass pan and topped it with a pat of butter and sprinkled brown sugar. I heated it at 375 degrees for 15 minutes. The sweet and tart flavors complimented the grilled pork chops. This is such an easy and delicious side dish...one I will remember next time I want to make sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
So good! Tasted great and the apples smelled amazing. I doubled the recipe and it fit nicely into an 8x8 dish. The night before, I microwaved the sweet potatoes (8 minutes each), and the filling scooped right out. (Thanks so much for that tip; I will never boil a sweet potato again.) The next day, I prepared the apples. I didn't have allspice, so I used a little pumpkin pie spice and a little nutmeg in place of it. The apples softened right up in about 8-10 minutes. I reheated the sweet potatoes in the microwave for about 2 minutes before added the apple mixture and milk. Then I sprinkled a tiny bit of brown sugar on top. I put it in the oven for a little bit just to make sure it was heated through and to keep it warm until I was ready to serve it, but I love the fact that it can be made entirely on the stovetop. I will definitely make these again, though they may be a little too sweet for some people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was tasty but very, very sweet. I liked it but my husband wasn't a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is a great, easy recipe. It was a hit at my Thanksgiving dinner. Even though I forgot the apples, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Von Goth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was great and reminded me of pumpkin pie! My 2 year old twins have been off veggies for a couple weeks but they gobbled this up and had seconds and thirds! So anything that the toddlers like is a winner in my book. I served it with breaded pork chops and stuffing for a cold weather treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I cannot say enough great things about this recipe! It's fast, easy, simple, healthful and tasty. I've made it with both brown sugar and white sugar and can't tell much of a difference. Most recently I doubled the recipe, omitted the milk and GRATED the apples. To. Die. For. I do wish the final product looked a bit nicer, but honestly it tastes so freakin' fantastic that it doesn't matter. Try this recipe, I promise you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
My family loved this dish. It's super easy to make and really delicious! We're going to use this as a filling in a sweet potato pie and go from there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This was delicious! I made it almost exactly as written, but used raw sugar instead of white sugar, and pumpkin pie spice instead of the allspice. This was all I had on hand, and it worked very, very well. I also added about 1/8 tsp of salt, or maybe a bit more, to bring out the flavors and to keep it from tasting bland. My family enjoyed this, especially my somewhat picky little brother, who told me that it was "amazing." :) Thanks for sharing the recipe...it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States