Smushed Apples and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I doubled the recipe and it turned out wonderful. I served this with a ham for Christmas and everyone raved about it. The pork and the sweet potatoes complimented each other nicely. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This recipe was pretty good, it wasn't as great as I was expecting based on the other reviews. On the good side, it is a fast and simple recipe and smells heavenly. On the bad side it is a bit mealy and doesn't look very pretty (turns a brownish color). The taste is good, but not great. I would recommend this recipe to sweet potatoe lovers that like a sweetened dish but I will not make this recipe again for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I made this dish for Thanksgiving and the whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Lambart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This was great! I tried it for the first time for Thanksgiving and for the first time ever, the sweet potato dish was emptied! I used Rome apples because I new that they would cook down well and be much easier to blend in. Substituted Splenda as well. Everything came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Very good recipe. Since I am the only one in my household who eats sweet potatoes, I portioned this recipe into individual servings which I froze on a cookie sheet and then placed in individual ziplocks in my freezer to enjoy whenever I please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Made this wonderful dish for Thanksgiving. However, we substituted the milk with Capt. Morgan's Spiced Rum and even drizzled a little more on top before putting in the oven to heat. Was great. Next time I plan on doing some roasted pecans, granola and butter for a crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beach, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
We loved this! I used a golden delicious apple instead of a granny smith (I think a granny smith might be a little too tart for my tastes), brown sugar instead of white, added an extra tbp of butter & added 1/2 tsp of ginger. I started my apples when my potatoes came to a boil & took them off the heat when they were done. That way they were done when the potatos were. I skipped the milk all together...didn't think it was necessary. Thanks Elfindancer...this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Oh Yum! This is a wonderful recipe. My family loves sweet potatos - even the little ones. Everyone devoured this recipe! And it is even more scrumptious with just a little butter on top. I have a sweet potato casserole I make for special occasions because it takes more time, but I honestly like this recipe better (and it's healthier than my other recipe). I love the subtle apple taste mixed with the sweet potato. The best thing about it is that it's quick and easy! I ALWAYS make my sweet potatos in the microwave, whether eating them plain or in a recipe. For this recipe, poke holes in the potatos, wrap in a paper towel, and cook about 8 minutes. Then, just scoop out the flesh and mash. It's super easy and FAST! I've always found it hard to peel sweet potatos, so the microwave is a good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I thought this was delicious. I didn't cook the apples long enough that they "mashed" along with the potatoees, but I didn't think that mattered. I liked the bite of apple flavor mixed in with the sweet potatoes. This is wonderful and healthy on its own, but buttered, it's heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Really simple, tastes great hot or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States