Smushed Apples and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
All I have to say is YUMMMMMM. I am a picky sweet potato eater, and all I USED to like was my Granny's sweet potatoes made with orange juice. This was even better in my opinion. I used brown sugar on top, as I like it sweet, and it was just right! My son (13 mos)is a really picky eater and he even ate it. My hubby loved it too. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I would serve this dish rather than the traditional sweet potato casseroles! The flavor is perfect though there isn't as much sugar as most pies. My husband (not a big fan of sweet potatoes) said, "This tastes like pie! and ate a large helping." I prepared the dish and sprinkled a spoonful of brown sugar, raisins, and dried cranberries on top, then placed it in a warm oven to melt the sugar. I can haardly wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone LOVED it. I should have doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
So good! I added pecans, brown sugar and a sprinkling of marshmallows on top and baked it a little in the oven, but it's a great recipe without those extras as well. A very durable side dish or even dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I added squash as well to this recipe. A great one for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Everyone raved about these sweet potatoes. I topped it with marshmallows and all the kids liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This sweet potato recipie was incredibly easy and "oh my god" delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Everyone loved this one. I really enjoyed it and I don't even like sweet potatoes. A great recipe and much healthier than most of the traditional sweet potato casseroles. I added a small bit of maple syrup for extra flavor and it was DELICIOUS! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hemlock, Indiana, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
These were awesome. I do not like sweet potatoes and I LOVED this recipe. These flew off of my table at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Very, very good! This was a huge hit with my family! I doubled the recipie, and just eyeballed the cinnamon and nutmeg. After mashing it with a potato masher, I put it in a casserole dish, sprinkled it liberally with brown sugar and baked it in a 350 degree oven for about 20 mins. The sugar carmelized and crusted over the top. DELICIOUS! It's my new sweet potato side dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States