Smushed Apples and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Oh Yum! This is a wonderful recipe. My family loves sweet potatos - even the little ones. Everyone devoured this recipe! And it is even more scrumptious with just a little butter on top. I have a sweet potato casserole I make for special occasions because it takes more time, but I honestly like this recipe better (and it's healthier than my other recipe). I love the subtle apple taste mixed with the sweet potato. The best thing about it is that it's quick and easy! I ALWAYS make my sweet potatos in the microwave, whether eating them plain or in a recipe. For this recipe, poke holes in the potatos, wrap in a paper towel, and cook about 8 minutes. Then, just scoop out the flesh and mash. It's super easy and FAST! I've always found it hard to peel sweet potatos, so the microwave is a good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I would serve this dish rather than the traditional sweet potato casseroles! The flavor is perfect though there isn't as much sugar as most pies. My husband (not a big fan of sweet potatoes) said, "This tastes like pie! and ate a large helping." I prepared the dish and sprinkled a spoonful of brown sugar, raisins, and dried cranberries on top, then placed it in a warm oven to melt the sugar. I can haardly wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
All I have to say is YUMMMMMM. I am a picky sweet potato eater, and all I USED to like was my Granny's sweet potatoes made with orange juice. This was even better in my opinion. I used brown sugar on top, as I like it sweet, and it was just right! My son (13 mos)is a really picky eater and he even ate it. My hubby loved it too. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Wowsa!! This is fabulous!! I bought enough sweet potatoes to try both this and Pineapple Sweet Potatoes (also found at this site)so the family could decide which one to take to Gramma's house on Thanksgiving. I don't even think I'll be trying the second recipe...this was the bomb! I added a second apple (and used Cortlands instead of Granny Smith), and also added about 1/3 cup brown sugar. Yum-a-liscious!! I decided to boil them before peeling, and was surpised to find out how easily the skins slipped off after boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Very, very good! This was a huge hit with my family! I doubled the recipie, and just eyeballed the cinnamon and nutmeg. After mashing it with a potato masher, I put it in a casserole dish, sprinkled it liberally with brown sugar and baked it in a 350 degree oven for about 20 mins. The sugar carmelized and crusted over the top. DELICIOUS! It's my new sweet potato side dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
We loved this! I used a golden delicious apple instead of a granny smith (I think a granny smith might be a little too tart for my tastes), brown sugar instead of white, added an extra tbp of butter & added 1/2 tsp of ginger. I started my apples when my potatoes came to a boil & took them off the heat when they were done. That way they were done when the potatos were. I skipped the milk all together...didn't think it was necessary. Thanks Elfindancer...this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This was very good. My daughter loved it, my husband was so-so but he is not a sweet potato lover. I added a little extra butter when simmering the apples. I would not add the milk until you have begun to whip the potatos. The apples produce some juice which adds moisture. You run the risk of them being too watery. Add the milk later if needed. All in all a good recipe. It had a nice sweet and tart flavor that was different than your average mashed sweet potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I cannot say enough great things about this recipe! It's fast, easy, simple, healthful and tasty. I've made it with both brown sugar and white sugar and can't tell much of a difference. Most recently I doubled the recipe, omitted the milk and GRATED the apples. To. Die. For. I do wish the final product looked a bit nicer, but honestly it tastes so freakin' fantastic that it doesn't matter. Try this recipe, I promise you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I thought this was delicious. I didn't cook the apples long enough that they "mashed" along with the potatoees, but I didn't think that mattered. I liked the bite of apple flavor mixed in with the sweet potatoes. This is wonderful and healthy on its own, but buttered, it's heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
excellent side dish...i didn't put quite as much sugar as called for and omitted the milk completely...it would have made this batch very mushy and too wet for my liking. everyone enjoyed it, even 6 year old who has never eaten more than her "no thank you" bite of sweet potato! will be making at thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary

Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States