Smushed Apples and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Delicious. I am a fan of nuking potatoes, as someone else has mentioned themselves. It made the recipe much quicker. I found that it took much longer than 5 minutes to tenderize the apples in the butter mixture. This recipe is a winner, and paired great with another recipe from this site, the maple salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
The only changes I made to this recipe were to microwave the sweet potatoes and use non-dairy margarine instead of butter since my son is allergic to milk. I used the mixer to get it pretty smooth, just a few small apple chunks were left. This was so yummy! Everyone in my family loved it and had seconds and thirds! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I love it! I could eat this every day. My family loved it. No more waiting till Thanksgiving for our sweet potatoes! I increased the recipe by 1/2. I added marshmellows the 3rd time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrappinkm

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
My picky kids love this recipe, however I have had to make a few adjustments. One, I usually double it and two, you have to cook the apples a lot longer in order to get them to soften. I usually cook them for at least 20 minutes with the lid on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I cut the recipe in half and sort of estimated on all the ingrediants. I also cooked the potato in the microwave then smashed it all up with a fork. Really nice on a cold day! I'd never tried to add apple before and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
pan dry potatoes after boiling. Use 1/8 cup maple syrup instead of refined sugar. Good kid food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mdm. Admiral

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
i am always looking for healthy sweet potato recipes, not laden with sugar,cream, and the like. well, i have found that in this recipe! this was a great treat and just the right amount of sweet to make me think i was having a "dessert" The apple was the perfect touch to the taste of this dish. this is another one of those recipes that is super easy to put together...i mean easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I love experimenting with sweet potato recipes. I made this for Christmas and it was a nice twist to the usual sugar filled recipes. I used brown sugar in place of white. I'll probably make this again later after I experiment with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lorielle
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I have never had sweet potatoes this way, or with apples at all. I was very pleasantly surprised at how good it was! The flavors are perfect together, and it does taste like dessert, but still excellent for a side dish. I will definitely make this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This was fantastic! I microwaved the sweet potatoes (mine took 12 minutes for two large potatoes) as suggested by another reviewer, which sped things up considerably. I sliced the apples thin and made sure I covered the pan, but they still took longer than suggested in the recipe (maybe 10 minutes). The recipe tasted great, but really didn't look appetizing. I was just cooking for myself and my husband, so I put our servings in ramekins, added brown sugar and walnuts to the top, and broiled until the sugar was carmalized. They were much prettier that way, and tasty! In the future I may reduce the sugar used (and my sugary topping) to make it healthier. I think you could reduce the sugar by at least half without doing major damage to the flavor. All in all, i think this is a fast, easy (especially if you microwave the sweet potatoes), healthier alternative to sweet potato casserole. We'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States