Smushed Apples and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was perfect. One night I cooked an autumn-themed dinner: baked chicken and apples, this fabulous sweet potato dish, and pumpkin cookies for dessert. My husband LOVED it. Thanks again for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
with lots of sugar and cinnamon it is almost dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
GREAT tasting potatoes! I didn't have "Granny Smith's" so I used Fuji, I just used a little less sugar. It was GREAT! My husband & daughter loved it as well so I'll be making it again in the near future! Thank You for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
We had a cooking day during my peace corps training in peru, and we all brought in recipes to make. I decided on this recipe because all of the ingrediants are really plentiful and inexpenive here. It turned out sooooo well, and everyone (both peruvian and american) wanted the recipe. A total success! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Pretty good, although the tartness of the granny smith apple didn't seem to fit. It could be because I didn't use the amount of sugar called for - I only used 1 tbsp brown sugar. Also, only a pat of butter, and used rice milk instead of regular milk. It did satisfy my sweet tooth though, and I served it with ginger ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was delicious! The tartness of the apples (I used Empire) offset the sweetness of the sweet potatoes nicely. I microwaved two forked sweet potatoes for about 6 minutes, then scooped them out with a spoon. In the meantime, I put thinly sliced Empire apples in a skillet with the butter, spices, and a combo Splenda and brown sugar, and I covered it. Everything easily blended with a fork, and I didn't add the milk. It won't be super smooth, but I liked the potato and apple chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I made this and my family found it to be quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Very good recipe. I leave out the milk and substitute 2 T. of honey for the sugar. Microwaving the sweet potatos is the way to go - boiling them leaches the nutrients and lessens the flavor. If I didn't have a microwave, I would bake them instead of boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Very easy recipe, and wonderfully simple to modify. I think the one thing the recipe lacks is a call for salt. Obviously, you can do this after completing cooking - just salt to taste. I think this would be fantastic if you threw in some carmelized onions, or little boiling onions. Will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This recipe ROCKS!! The flavors are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Destin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States