Smushed Apples and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is an awesome recipe! Easy & delicious, plus a little different than the normal sweet potato/brown sugar/marshmallow standby. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
great! Microwaving the potatoes for 10 minutes saves so much time. While microwaving them, I was able to cook the apple so it is all done at the same time. I didn't have allspice. I think if I used a mixer it would have a baby food texture so I used a fork which is also less clean up. It was a good side dish for the pork chops I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I thought this was very tasty. My 3 year old loved it and had 3 helpings. I didn't use any milk and used sweetener instead of sugar, also added a sprinkle of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bets

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I didn't have the allspice so I just omitted it, but man, once I tasted the finish product I couldn't stop - SO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Great for people who can't tolerate Gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
These were delicious! I used more sweet potatoes and apples though. I used 4 sweet potatoes, 2 apples, and 1/4 cup BROWN sugar (just goes better with sweet potatoes). I also added 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, and didn't use any milk (didn't need any). I left the peel on my apples, and would do that again! I beat the potatoes very well (so no lumps), then added the apple mixture. These go super well with pork tenderloin or pork chops. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Excellent recipe! Now I understand the rave reviews! I was planning to make a casserole with my leftover baked potatoes, but this was much better. Did not need the milk, used brown sugar & only about 2 Tb., did add some toasted coconut for topping. I just used a fork to combined, liked the bits of apple & potato. Will definitely make again & again. Might try throwing in some quick-cooking oatmeal before mixing, too. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This tasted like dessert, but was very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Sweet potatoes aren't really popular where I live, but they're change from regular potatoes and really healthy. I really like this recipe, I wasn't interested in the marshmellow ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States