Smucker's® Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
For those of you who are calorie conscious like me... I wanted to let you know that I reduced the brown sugar to one cup and only used 1/2 c. butter, which I replaced the the other 1/2 c. with applesauce. A little stickier to work with but was still very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: North Vernon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I have been making these for over 30 years as well. Word to the wise: only use smuckers caramel topping!! It spreads better than any other topping available. Also, it is better if you melt the butter on top of the stove rather than in the microwave: microwaved butter makes the batter too goey to crumble or spread. Wonderful recipe!! My coworkers and family fight over the last piece!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I would give these 10 stars if I could. This is the third time making these in 3 weeks, and each time, they came out AWESOME!! I will only use this recipe.. by far, it beats others I've tried. I'm not sure what the reviewer below me means "too much butter". The chocolate chips measurement is the perfect amount, and do taste mostly caramel. I love that this is a soft bar, because other caramel bar recipes are too hard on the teeth. I'm hooked, I'll be baking these during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Denise
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These were excellent. So easy to make. Next time I will add more chocolate chips and maybe try adding some coconut. Yum! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
made these to take to a family gathering. very popular, i sent the leftovers home with my uncle who was crazy over them! easy to make too. a must for caramel lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
baba loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Yum! These are very good! I only used 1 cup of butter and didn't miss the rest. I used old-fashioned oats because that's what I had on hand and they worked just fine. Thanks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I have been making these for 30 years. My kids grew up on this recipe and it is awesome. I use a 17 oz jar of Mrs. Richardson's butterscotch carmel topping instead of Smuckers and a whole 12 oz bag of chocolate chips instead of 6 oz. Be sure not to over mix the oatmeal mixture or it will turn to one big glob making it impossible to sprinkle over the pan and again over the top. These are sure to become a family favorite. I hope you can create the wonderful memories that I have over the years with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saundra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I wanted to love these but I really just didn't. I think the caramel flavor gets lost and there is an awful lot of butter which I just can't get over since the flavor isn't there. They basically take like chewy chocolate oatmeal cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tssunshine24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
These were fantastic!! Everyone loved them! I defintely have to make them again..I used crushed glazed walnuts for the nuts. Thank you..mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States