Smucker's Chicken Salad with Wild Rice, Pecans, Grapes and Orange Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I made this as a side dish for Easter this year and got many compliments, although I thought that the chicken was pretty bland. I cut the chicken into about 1" chunks, which were too big, so I will definitely do the 1/4" strips next time, and maybe pre-season the chicken a little, at least with salt and maybe some garlic or onion powder. I also used regular orange marmalade instead of sugar free (I don't like the flavor of Nutra sweet) and red wine vinager instead of raspberry vinegar and those things worked just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
I made this recipe as a main dish and served cold - excellent for a hot day. I liked the flavor contrast. I did not have just wild rice, so I used 3 Success Rice brown and wild rice pouches (did not use seasoning enclosed with them); also, I did not have enough pecans, so I added some cashew nuts, crushed. Everything worked fine, but I thought that the dressing was too thick. Next time I'll increase the amount of raspberry vinegar to make the salad more juicy, and perhaps add more sliced grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This was a yummy combination of flavors, and is a great way to use leftover roast chicken, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
I seasoned the chicken a little, and I used 2 boxes of original rice-a -roni (white and wild rice mixed) without the seasoning pkt. I loved the flavor! This is a great side dish for pot-luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I brought this to a baby shower last week and it was a BIG hit! Everyone wanted the recipe. I did make a few minor changes however. As another reviewer noted, the sauce was a little thick so I added the juice of the orange I used for the orange rind and it was a bit tart so I added a few teaspons of balsamic vinegar. I used Raspberry Wine Vinegar (Reese's) which I think has more flavor than regular Raspberry Vinegar. Also, I marinated the chicken breasts in a Balsamic Vinaigrette salad dressing (Wishbone, Kraft, etc.) for about an hour and cooked them on the grill. I used a rice that was a combination of wild, red, white and brown (Texmati). It comes in a plastic bottle/jar. It was very nice because it doesn't stick together. The marmalade was the secret ingredient that no one could figure out. Husbands liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
AWESOME!! THIS WAS A GREAT & EASY RECIPE. INSTEAD OF COOKING THE CHICKEN AT HOME, I PURCHASED AN ALREADY COOKED CHICKEN (DEFINITE TIME SAVER). ANOTHER SUGGESTION--WITH THANKSGIVING COMING UP, THIS WOULD BE A GREAT OPTION FOR LEFTOVER TURKEY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Using what I had on hand, I substituted Unble Ben's long grain and wild rice mix, apricot pinapple jam and a raspberry walnut vinaigrette. I also added a touch of caraway. The result was very, very tasty! A keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I reduced the recipe down to one serving and something just wasn't right with the directions. My husband said it had too much raspberry vinegar. It was just kind of different. Can't see making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
this was interesting--very different. my grocery store was out of sugar-free marmalade, so i just used regular--maybe that's why it seemed too sweet and overpowering for me. i'm not sure if i'll make it again, but it was fun to experiment with. the grapes, nuts, chicken, and rice were a great combo, i just might need to do some tweaking on the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I found this recipe while looking for something to use up grapes. I made it for my picky family (myself included) with plain white rice, chicken, grapes, and pecans. We all love it! We tried the dressing but didn't like it, and I'm not sure what else would work as a dressing for picky eaters like us. It's nice and light for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRALH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States