Smucker's Chicken Salad with Wild Rice, Pecans, Grapes and Orange Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
You can thin out the dressing by using vegetable stock. I reheated the chicken (already cooked and on hand from a previous recipe) in good vegetable stock, then added the dressing ingredient right in the bowl and mixed. I had to swap the orange marmalade for apricot preserves (also on hand) but I believe it lended the same fruity sweetness the recipe is after. Knowing rice will usually absorb the extra stock once it sits for a while, I made my mixture a tad bit soupy at first, but it ended up the exact right consistency. We had it warm for dinner, and I can't wait for it cold for lunch! Glad I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is wonderful!! I seasoned my wild rice by substituting about 1/4C fresh orange juice (the juice of 1 orange) for part of the water called for in the rice cooking directions. I also added a long strip of the orange rind to the water and a stick of cinnamon, (both removed at the end of cooking) and added 1/4C craisins. I added about 1/4 C chopped cashews to this salad also and omitted the salt completely(for health reasons). This salad has so much flavor that the salt was not missed at all. I served it on a bed of baby spinach and had it as a main dish. What a wonderfully cool and refreshing summertime meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was an interesting dish to make and eat once, but not something I would make a second time. I think it might have been better with a few things to add crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I brought this to a baby shower last week and it was a BIG hit! Everyone wanted the recipe. I did make a few minor changes however. As another reviewer noted, the sauce was a little thick so I added the juice of the orange I used for the orange rind and it was a bit tart so I added a few teaspons of balsamic vinegar. I used Raspberry Wine Vinegar (Reese's) which I think has more flavor than regular Raspberry Vinegar. Also, I marinated the chicken breasts in a Balsamic Vinaigrette salad dressing (Wishbone, Kraft, etc.) for about an hour and cooked them on the grill. I used a rice that was a combination of wild, red, white and brown (Texmati). It comes in a plastic bottle/jar. It was very nice because it doesn't stick together. The marmalade was the secret ingredient that no one could figure out. Husbands liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Basically I used this recipe as a template, cutting it drastically to serve 2. I did not us any rice, plus I had pre-cooked chicken on hand. Used most of the prescribed ingredients, except the vinegar. I substituted some mayo in the dressing in lieu of vinegar, (my husband has a huge aversion to vinegar). All in all, it worked out quite well. I served the salad @ room temp in raddichio cups, garnished with basil and parsley. A nice cool salad for a warm evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennsy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oracle, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
My husband is a vegetarian, so I omitted the chicken and cut down the dressing a little bit. It was a delicious side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I liked this but thought the orange flavor was too strong. I would probably omit the orange zest next time. It also made way too much dressing - about half would have been plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I made this as a side dish (I shredded the chicken and mixed it in) and took it to a pot-luck dinner. I had 2 people ask for the recipe. It is different, and has a great mix of flavors. It is not the kind of thing I would make as a regular dish, but it is great for a special meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This is delicious! A perfect dinner for a hot summer day. My husband loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia O'C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
i used red grapes, skipped the orange zest and used black raspberry jam instead of orange marmalade... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States