Smucker's Chicken Salad with Wild Rice, Pecans, Grapes and Orange Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
You can thin out the dressing by using vegetable stock. I reheated the chicken (already cooked and on hand from a previous recipe) in good vegetable stock, then added the dressing ingredient right in the bowl and mixed. I had to swap the orange marmalade for apricot preserves (also on hand) but I believe it lended the same fruity sweetness the recipe is after. Knowing rice will usually absorb the extra stock once it sits for a while, I made my mixture a tad bit soupy at first, but it ended up the exact right consistency. We had it warm for dinner, and I can't wait for it cold for lunch! Glad I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is wonderful!! I seasoned my wild rice by substituting about 1/4C fresh orange juice (the juice of 1 orange) for part of the water called for in the rice cooking directions. I also added a long strip of the orange rind to the water and a stick of cinnamon, (both removed at the end of cooking) and added 1/4C craisins. I added about 1/4 C chopped cashews to this salad also and omitted the salt completely(for health reasons). This salad has so much flavor that the salt was not missed at all. I served it on a bed of baby spinach and had it as a main dish. What a wonderfully cool and refreshing summertime meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was an interesting dish to make and eat once, but not something I would make a second time. I think it might have been better with a few things to add crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I brought this to a baby shower last week and it was a BIG hit! Everyone wanted the recipe. I did make a few minor changes however. As another reviewer noted, the sauce was a little thick so I added the juice of the orange I used for the orange rind and it was a bit tart so I added a few teaspons of balsamic vinegar. I used Raspberry Wine Vinegar (Reese's) which I think has more flavor than regular Raspberry Vinegar. Also, I marinated the chicken breasts in a Balsamic Vinaigrette salad dressing (Wishbone, Kraft, etc.) for about an hour and cooked them on the grill. I used a rice that was a combination of wild, red, white and brown (Texmati). It comes in a plastic bottle/jar. It was very nice because it doesn't stick together. The marmalade was the secret ingredient that no one could figure out. Husbands liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Basically I used this recipe as a template, cutting it drastically to serve 2. I did not us any rice, plus I had pre-cooked chicken on hand. Used most of the prescribed ingredients, except the vinegar. I substituted some mayo in the dressing in lieu of vinegar, (my husband has a huge aversion to vinegar). All in all, it worked out quite well. I served the salad @ room temp in raddichio cups, garnished with basil and parsley. A nice cool salad for a warm evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennsy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oracle, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
My husband is a vegetarian, so I omitted the chicken and cut down the dressing a little bit. It was a delicious side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I liked this but thought the orange flavor was too strong. I would probably omit the orange zest next time. It also made way too much dressing - about half would have been plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I made this as a side dish (I shredded the chicken and mixed it in) and took it to a pot-luck dinner. I had 2 people ask for the recipe. It is different, and has a great mix of flavors. It is not the kind of thing I would make as a regular dish, but it is great for a special meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This is delicious! A perfect dinner for a hot summer day. My husband loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia O'C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
i used red grapes, skipped the orange zest and used black raspberry jam instead of orange marmalade... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States