Smothered Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
I followed the recipe as written and after a taste test it was just OK so I added an envelope of dry onion soup to it and it was much, much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This was a good recipe...fast and easy to prepare but nothing to write home about. I would definitely make it again but instead of 2 cans cream of mushroom I will try 1 cr of mush and 1 golden mushroom or cream of something else just to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Such delicious comfort food. Smells incredible when it's baking. Use plenty of fresh onion. We've made this twice so far, second time we tried a boneless pork shoulder roast cut into slabs (cooked it for two hours to be sure it was done throughout)--it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
A very easy recipe to prepare and my husband cleaned his plate. The only change I made was to fry the pork chops in butter; remove the chops to a casserole, and added mushroom soup to the frying pan dripping plus ½ can of water. After bring the soup to a boil I then added the soup to the casserole, cover it with foil, and baked it for 30 min at 350 degrees. All in all it was very tastily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I was looking for something that didn't require a ton of ingredients and was easy to prepare. This recipe was it! I've tried a pot roast cooked in a similar fashion and loved it, so I thought I would give this a whirl. Since it is just me, I cooked one pork chop with 1/2 can of soup. I seasoned with rosemary and onion flakes, plus salt. I found the pork chop moist and flavorful. This recipe is a keeper for me! It's easy to throw in the oven after work while I take the dogs for a walk. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This dish was pretty good. I enjoyed the 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup. However, I do find the recipe missing something - salt, pepper, string beans, carrots, maybe? Whatever it is, the magic ingredient would definitely make this a stellar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Taste is 3 stars ease is 5 stars. I am glad to have something like this to go to after work and the family gets fast comfort food. Thank you. Anyone who is honestly expecting gormet out of a can of soup and a pork chop needs to get real.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Photo by memorysketch
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Ladies and gentlemen, I am confused. When I made this recipe, it smelled great. The pork was fantastic – I wish I had more in the freezer it was so good. The sauce, however, left something to be desired. I’m just not sure what that something is. It’s a trifle .. well, it’s not bland. I just don’t know what it is. The dish didn’t get past the mushroom soup-beefy onion soup – gaahhhrlic - oniony-ness that seemed to overpower the pork. That’s probably my fault, since I strayed from the recipe. But my family and I – including my picky daughter – ate it up. But when it came to left overs, I couldn’t make myself eat it for a day or two. And then I was staaarrving for protein, and all of a sudden there was a ton of pork left over that was just begging to be consumed. This recipe isn’t one I’d purposefully set out to make ever again. It’s not for dinner parties. But if it’s the end of the month and money is scarce, and the ingredients are something you’ve got in your pantry, (and let’s face it, most of us do) it’s some good eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memorysketch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I liked this one. I added a small can of mushrooms and some minced garlic and it turned out perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Very blah. I was kind of expecting that however. Canned soup always tastes like canned soup. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States