Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Mad this two nights ago. My family loved it. I used red wine instead of water just to give it some extra flavor. Except for the weird pinkish color it was very tasty. Next time I will use white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curiouschild

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Made this last night, husband and myself really liked it, will make it again for sure. >^..^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cats-n-Roses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Very good as written, exactly what a smothered chop is supposed to be. Great with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Lash

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I have been looking for a smothered pork chop recipe without cream of mushroom for the longest. Glad I found this one- it's so good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Made a few changes: Dredged the pork chops in flour, seasoned with season salt, dried onion and garlic (making it even quicker to prepare!) Browned chops in hot olive oil in skillet. Dusted with onion soup mix, added enough white wine to nearly cover the chops; simmered covered for about 35 minutes. (Added water to thin gravy) I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
These pork chops were very easy to make, and tasted good. I used thin pork chops, because that is all I had, and they were tasty but not as tender as I would have liked. Altogether, it made a good, quick meal that looked and tasted like you fussed. I liked the fact that the pork chops make their own gravy while they cook; this saves lots of time! I will probably make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This dish is a good base recipe. I altered it by sauteing onions and garlic in olive oil for a few minutes added 1c. of fresh mushrooms. Threw the pork chops (seasoned w/ pepper and salt) in the pan and browned both sides, deglazed pan w/ 1/4c. of sherry, then added, flour, broth and gravy browning stuff. Also added a few splashes of worcestershire. Cooked on low about an hour or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millis, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Needham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This recipe was not to bad. The gravy was not as flavorful as I would have liked. I added a beef bouillon cube after thickening. The browning sauce-I could only find something called "seasoning sauce"-was dark in color but didn't darken the gravy much at all. Just ok-probably won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
The first time I cooked this, I followed the recipe exactly. It was good then but a little bland. Tonight, I switched it up a little. First, I browned the pork chops (Center Cut Pork Loin was what I had in the freezer.) The chops were seasoned with Tony Chachere's, black pepper, celery powder, and garlic powder. (I didn't have any fresh garlic on hand.) After browning the chops, I put them aside and sauted the onion and a green bell pepper. Then I put the chops in and followed the rest of the recipe. The brown gravy mix I used is the Tony Chachere's brown gravy mix. The seasoning and the brown gravy powder added just the right amount of spice to the gravy and pork chops. I served it with French Bread, corn on the cob, and rice. The family loved it and my husband raved. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eunice, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Nothing outta this world in my opinion but my children ate it up with sheer gusto and my 8year old (who ate twice as much as usual) asked for it again. This will have to go down into kid favorites. I would rate it a 3 my husband gave it a 4 and my son a 5, I'm sure my 2 1/2 yr old daughter would have given it a 5 if she understood allrecipes =). I didnt have any browning sauce so I used worcestershire sauce and some brown gravy mix from a packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States