Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
These were really good! I added rosemary as suggested by previous reviewers. I didn't give it the full 5 stars because they weren't as tender as they might have been if I cooked them longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBUGSMAMMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This recipe was wonderful. I wasn't quite sure what browning sauce was and found it in the condiments aisle next to steak seasonings and sauces. At the end I added alittle cornstarch to thicken up the gravy alittle more. My kids gobbled it up like it was thanksgiving with mashed potatoes and gravy. My picky husband even loved it. This recipe is keeper for rotation to our weeknight mix. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
No complaints here! My family LOVED this. I couldn't wait to finish it the next day. I did add some parsley so I could enjoy the onion and garlic without the lingering effects on my breath later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I have not a clue what browning sauce is, so I browned my chops first and then added the onion/garlic to the drippings. At the end I added salt, pepper, and some rosemary. This was excellent- gravy was great on mashed pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This recipe is pretty good. My husband and 8 yr old daughter loved it. I thought the gravy was kind of bland so I will add some seasoning next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Red Bud, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DELKEE
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I read every review prior to making this dish, so I knew to go easy on the salt and garlic and to add my own seasonings to the pork prior to cooking. This was an easy recipe that looks appealing, however there is way too much garlic. I only used a half an onion (pureed in the food processor so my husband would eat it) and one clove of garlic and the garlic flavor was still overwhelming. I also made the "mistake" of using garlic flavored chicken broth (I thought it would give the flavor more depth). In the end my husband ate two of the chops, along with some white rice. I ate one chop and gave the rest to our dog (he loved it). This recipe could work, but I'd omit the garlic all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELKEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Very, very, very good example of home cooking as it should be done. Our "picky" son, cleaned his plate (rarely happens, if ever). The sauce is excellent and could easily be used with many entree and side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I made this for supper tonight and my family just lapped it up. I added about 1/2 tsp of dried rosemary as I am a sucker for rosemary with pork, and I didn't use as much flour as the recipe called for (I ran out, and used about 2 heaping tbsps.) The sauce was perfect in consistency for me and everything was delicious. I was glad that I used a low sodium chicken broth as the flavours concentrated in the pan and would have been too salty for us if I had used regular. Thanks for this recipe, it will be a staple in our house from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Very easy to prepare, and it tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Netcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
My family loved these pork chops. I took the advice of other reviewers and seasoned the chops first (used Lawry's Season Salt). I also used minced garlic instead of fresh & served with baked potatoes and cabbage. The chops were so tender & juicy. I'll definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvNLife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States