Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
These were fantastic, and thanks to the gravy, the pork chops were very juicy! I didn't have browning sauce, so I substituted low-sodium soy sauce. Delicious!!! Will be making again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Fast, simple and good! Who could ask for more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
The whole family loved it. I did use the suggestion to add worchestire sauce and hot sauce, and went real light on the browning sauce. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This will be on rotation at my house regularly! Tasty and simple enough to make on a weeknight. Our changes: seasoned the onions and garlic with some salt, cooked until tender and then reserved half of it on the side (I didn't think the pork chops would fit with all the onion still in the pan); seasoned the pork chops with rosemary, garlic salt and fresh ground pepper; browned on both sides, moving the onions still in the pan so it wouldn't brown too well; added the rest of the onion with the sauce mixture. It was delicious! Served with white steamed rice and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
OMG THIS WAS SOOOOO GOOD!! I used a little butter to saute the onion and garlic (only 2 cloves not 4 and minced and only half an onion coarsley chopped) and put some salt, pepper, and garlic powder on the chops when I browned them, but other than that i followed the recipe. Everyone chowed it down!! I don't understand where people said theirs was bland??? It was so flavorful, and awesome with mashed potatoes and green beans! My boyfriend must have said "Mmmmm-mm" about 5 times! My picky daughter even loved it, I caught her dipping her pork chop in the gravy!! What a great recipe! Thanks so much for sharing! This will become a regular at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
My husband loved this recipe. Seasoning both sides is key. I like the idea of caramalizing the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This recipe has become a regular at my house. The only thing I do diffeent is season both sides of the chops with sea salt while browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
We really liked this recipe! I was a little skeptical about the large amount of onions but yum! It all made sense in the final product. The Kitchen Bouquet browning sauce gave it rich color and taste. I made extra sauce and put all over herb seasoned rice. Tender & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This was a wonderful dish and easy to make. Everyone loved it! A "comfort food" dish for me. I will surely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This is a very good recipe with something added for more flavor. I browned my chops both sides,first, removed, then did added the onions,(shallot coz I had it) garlic, chicken stock, s & p, and a splash of red wine for flavor and thickened it. Then added back chops, covered and cooked for 20 minutes. They were very moist and delish. And yes, it does make lots of sauce. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States