Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Great recipe and the best part is that it is super easy! I added a little seasoning to the pork chops before browning. They came out juicy and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I made these for supper tonight,okay,I adjusted the recipe for 12 chops,the chops tasted fine but the gravy! My mother tasted it and said 'No,does not taste good at all so I just asked her to make some of her own. Much better. Sometimes the old things are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Smothered chops are a traditional southern comfort food served over a bed of white rice. This recipe is not the best (or tastiest) way of preparing it. Follow this instead: Heat veg oil in deep pot, season your chops (use bone in chops, not boneless) with salt & pepper or even seasoning salt, dredge chops in flour, fry chops just until brown on each side (chops will still be raw in the middle), remove & drain on paper towels, remove all oil from pot except approx 1/4 cup, add onions & sliced bell peppers, brown until tender, add chops back in and add just enough water to cover chops, cook covered on med/low for about 45 minutes. You can stir it a couple times just to make sure everything is cooking evenly. The chops will be tender and a delicious gravy will be ready to add to the rice. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLC1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Delicious!! And we are picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Good, my picky bf love it. So i'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
These were good, may make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
My boyfriend and I love this!! Very flavorful and easy to make,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Mad this two nights ago. My family loved it. I used red wine instead of water just to give it some extra flavor. Except for the weird pinkish color it was very tasty. Next time I will use white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curiouschild

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Made this last night, husband and myself really liked it, will make it again for sure. >^..^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie-0-Toole

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Very good as written, exactly what a smothered chop is supposed to be. Great with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Lash

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States