Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
A simple, good pork chop gravy recipe- wasn't so sure about using the browning sauce- kinda creeped me out- but got use to it- great, easy meal w/mashed pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockinRob

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stuyvesant, New York, USA
Living In: West Sand Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
We made this as directed and there was no flavor. The chops never did get tender. We won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
lumpy gravy with onion chunks. pork chops not so tender and drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
My husband and I used this recipe, but changed a few things in order to add some more flavor. Instead of browning sauce we used about 3/4 tablespoon of cajun roux. We also cut down on the flour, perhaps a little too much since the sauce we just a bit runny. I also threw a couple cans of sliced mushrooms in, and added plenty of cajun seasoning and some cayenne pepper. It ended up being very tasty. We'll definitly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My family loves this dish. I always add extra garlic. Chops are super tender...my Mom kept asking me how I got them soooo tender. Definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I enjoyed my smoothered pork chops. May I suggest that you season your chops first. After that follow the recipe and you will enjoy tender juicy smoothered porks with a delicious gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I've been using this recipe for years and it's always a hit. Very easy, just make sure you start in more than enough time to ensure table time. Sometimes, I have to let this simmer for 2 hours to tender up my chops. But very delicious and worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
My family LOVED this, even my husband who is not a fan of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I seasoned our meat with black pepper and garlic salt. Otherwise followed the recipe directions. While it was not bad, it was not fabulous either. I found it to be a bit bland. I would use the recipe again as a base, but be sure to add spices to the gravy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I tried this as written first, which is why the 4 stars, good, but could be better. The second time I seared the chops in a very hot pan first, removed them and deglazed the pan with chicken stock. Then I caramelized the onions in the same pan, scraping up all the brown bits from the meat. Next I mixed the flour and stock, whisked that into the onion mix in the pan, and nestled the chops into the sauce and simmered for about 30 min. I used regular stock, not low sodium, so I did not use extra salt, but I did up the garlic. I also used Vidalia onions to give a nice sweet taste to the chops. They came out great, and I served them with garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States