Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
The pork turned out pretty dry inside-- I may have overcooked slightly, but I was disappointed, especially since I used the same amount of sauce to cook only two pork chops instead of six. My boyfriend, who has no sense of smell, also didn't find the sauce that exciting and added his own barbecue sauce. Probably because it's so garlic-heavy. I don't think we'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
this recipe sounded good until i tasted when it was finished cooking. it has no seasoning whatsoever. i had to add salt, pepper, rosemary and some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
The pork chops were good. However, the pork chops themeselves had no flavor. The gravy was good but we will probably not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
A simple, good pork chop gravy recipe- wasn't so sure about using the browning sauce- kinda creeped me out- but got use to it- great, easy meal w/mashed pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockinRob

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stuyvesant, New York, USA
Living In: West Sand Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
We made this as directed and there was no flavor. The chops never did get tender. We won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
lumpy gravy with onion chunks. pork chops not so tender and drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
My husband and I used this recipe, but changed a few things in order to add some more flavor. Instead of browning sauce we used about 3/4 tablespoon of cajun roux. We also cut down on the flour, perhaps a little too much since the sauce we just a bit runny. I also threw a couple cans of sliced mushrooms in, and added plenty of cajun seasoning and some cayenne pepper. It ended up being very tasty. We'll definitly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My family loves this dish. I always add extra garlic. Chops are super tender...my Mom kept asking me how I got them soooo tender. Definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I enjoyed my smoothered pork chops. May I suggest that you season your chops first. After that follow the recipe and you will enjoy tender juicy smoothered porks with a delicious gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I've been using this recipe for years and it's always a hit. Very easy, just make sure you start in more than enough time to ensure table time. Sometimes, I have to let this simmer for 2 hours to tender up my chops. But very delicious and worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States