Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it just didn't taste right. The sauce was not a savory brown color it looked more like gravy. Just weird. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I just made this recipe. I was skeptical from everyone saying it was bland, chops were tough and the gravy was thin or to thick. I followed the directions to the letter and it was AWESOME! Chops fell apart they were so tender and my picky boyfriend even loved it, no problems with gravy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I will definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I just made this recipe for supper. My husband and I really enjoyed this with homemade mashed potatoes and fresh carrots. The only change I made was to season the chops with Tony Chachere's cajun seasoning before browning and I added salt and fresh cracked pepper to the gravy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Great recipe. In place of white flour I used wheat flour. Simple and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIE811

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This turned out really well, but since I didn't have browning sauce, I had to add lots of seasoning. I'd make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbradr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I read that it was bland so when I was browning the chops I also seasoned them with some johnnys and it turned out great and if it's too thick just add some more water... It's simple and the wife and kid loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Made it exactly as stated, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I love this recipe and so does my family. I always add a little salt and pepper to my chops before frying them and since I never remember to buy browning sauce I use a few shakes of soy sauce instead, comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Serious YUM!!! These were sooooo good! We made them the other night, and they will definitely be a favorite we will make again! I read through some of the negative ratings for this, and made a few modifications that made it out of this world! I can understand how some were saying they were bland, you really do have to season the pork chops to give them their kick. I put a rub on the chops before browning them, the rub consisted of ground pepper, accent, thyme, and a little smokehouse maple seasoning. (you probably couldn't go wrong with a little cayenne, if you like a bit of spice?) Also, I don't understand how adding the flour to the pan could be any good either? I made the gravy the old fashioned way. I put the broth, flour, and browning in a jar, sealed the lid, and shook it up before pouring it over the chops. Much easier!! Let me tell you, if these are done right, they are to DIE for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States