Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Family loved it. I used extra garlic since we are garlic lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Bodai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was very, very bland. I cut the onion and garlic down because I knew that my son wouldn't eat it if there were too many pieces. If you pan fryed the pork chops and added a jar of gravy it would taste the same. My son gave it 2 1/2 stars. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
This was really good. The only thing I did different was seasoned the pork chops first (tony's and garlic pepper)Then I added mushrooms in with the sauce. A side of rice, and the meal was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I set out to make this recipe exactly as directed and by the time I was finished it turned out somewhat different. Such is cooking. I didn't have any browning sauce so I browned the pork chops really well and set them aside. As I was cooking the onions and garlic I thought of the package of mushrooms I had in the fridge and figured they would go well. So I added am 8 oz package of sliced white mushrooms. Much to my chagrin, I only had just over 1/2 cup of chicken stock. Instead of using water alone, I used 1/2 cup of apple juice and topped it up with water. Lots of salt and pepper too. It came out amazing! I served it with some home fries and peas and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
My husband wanted me to try something new with pork chops and I found this recipe, it was great. My 2 year old couldn't get enough of the gravy. I made mashed potatoes as a side but I would say it would go great with rice also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cross Plains, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Excellant recipe! I reduced the flour to 1/4 cup, added salt, pepper and a little summer savory. Was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I made this the other night and no one was too pleased. The gravy just seemed really bland and I had to add seasonins to perk it up. On the bright side, the chops were extremely tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I read the reviews before making this and noted that most were adding flavor. It does need it. I seasoned the pork and the flour for the sauce. It came out great, my family loved it. The pork was tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Wonderful southern style smothered chops. Great gravy! Excellent over rice or potatos... a definate favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was a real winner at my house! Next time I'll add a little more seasoning to the chops and the gravy, it was just a tad bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States