Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Awful. Now to be honest, I'm not the best cook and have yet to make pork chops that were "tender". I followed the recipe decreasing the flour to 1/4 cup (as suggested) and used Worcestershire, rosemary, season salt & pepper - also as suggested by reviewers. Cooked boneless chops a little less than 30 minutes. They were DRY. The sauce was VERY thin and had a "funky" taste to it and very little flavor. Now again, I could have made a mistake somewhere, but I double checked to make sure I didn't miss anything. These were NOT good. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Excellent! My pork chops are ususally tough and or dry. These were delicious. I didn't have brown sauce so I used worchestire sauce. I used marsala wine in place of water, only 2 garlic cloves and added rosemary and pepper. Served it with rice, but next time it will be with noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is one of my husband's favorite meals now! I serve it with mashed potatoes so you can use the gravy. The only thing I do differently is to brown the porkchops first, before I do anything else. This recipe is one of the reasons my husband has gained 15 lbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EIRAMASIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I loved this recipe. I seasoned my pork chops before I cooked them and I also seasoned the gravy a little bit while it was cooking. This gave a good spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maurice, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
these came out so good and juicy! i have already made them 3 times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I felt it was a good base. I had to add extra spices because I felt the overall recipe lacked any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was a great quick supper dish. Thoroughly enjoyed the chops and served with eggnoodles it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised how well these turned out...tender, with a very yummy gravy. Husband has requested them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Ok I've made this 3 times in the last 2 months tonight will be the 4th. Love it and my husband says its the best thing I ever made. thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
My pork chops came out so tough and dry! I added more of the browning sauce, garlic, salt and pepper an still found the gravy to be bland. Maybe a good starting point for a nice pork recipe but it definitely needs some tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States