Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
The first time I cooked this, I followed the recipe exactly. It was good then but a little bland. Tonight, I switched it up a little. First, I browned the pork chops (Center Cut Pork Loin was what I had in the freezer.) The chops were seasoned with Tony Chachere's, black pepper, celery powder, and garlic powder. (I didn't have any fresh garlic on hand.) After browning the chops, I put them aside and sauted the onion and a green bell pepper. Then I put the chops in and followed the rest of the recipe. The brown gravy mix I used is the Tony Chachere's brown gravy mix. The seasoning and the brown gravy powder added just the right amount of spice to the gravy and pork chops. I served it with French Bread, corn on the cob, and rice. The family loved it and my husband raved. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eunice, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Nothing outta this world in my opinion but my children ate it up with sheer gusto and my 8year old (who ate twice as much as usual) asked for it again. This will have to go down into kid favorites. I would rate it a 3 my husband gave it a 4 and my son a 5, I'm sure my 2 1/2 yr old daughter would have given it a 5 if she understood allrecipes =). I didnt have any browning sauce so I used worcestershire sauce and some brown gravy mix from a packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I had no problems like others seemed to have with this recipe. I scaled it down for 2, browned my pork chops with my regular seasonings for about 5 minutes a side then pulled them. Browned some onion and garlic, added flour until it was browned..then added my broth, made a tasty gravy! Put pork chops back in for 10 minutes covered and done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This is such an easy little recipe and required so few ingredients that it was quick to prepare, the longest was the wait for it to tenderize. I used pork loin boneless chops which didn't get tender after even 50 min of cooking and they were for hubby's lunch so I didn't have time to let them simmer any longer. The gravy was too thick and I had to thin it with some more broth. On the plus side it made more than enough to serve with mashed potatoes or biscuits too. The gravy could have used a little boost for flavor, but I'm not certain what it needed, maybe some mushrooms? Overall, worth another try with a better piece of pork. Thanks for the recipe Jana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Excellent. I can't imagine why anyone would give this recipe a bad rating. I've used this recipe exactly as written, and I have modified it a bit as well. GREAT both ways. My changes are use good (never cook with what you wouldn't drink) white wine in place of the half cup water. Instead of the gravy it calls for, I just cheat ;) and add two packages of pork gravy and a cup and a half of chicken broth. YUM, YUM!!!! It's always great!!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiAnneEvans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Middlesex, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stella, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was so simple and sooo good. It's different than how my mom made it growing up, but I'm always up for a new twist on an old favorite. The pork was so tender we could cut it with forks. The gravy was delicious served over rice. The perfect recipe for when you need comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is a good "base" recipe, but I felt like it needed some help. I added salt/pepper and a dash of garlic powder before browning. To the gravy I added a splash of red wine, more garlic powder, celery salt, a tsp of crisco, and an extra 1/2 cup of chicken stock. It turned out great over rice and with a side of yellow squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Too Good. I used garlic roasted chicken broth and added a little extra water. I also seasoned the pork with seasoned salt and pepper prior to browning. It was "awesome" according to my family! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sayville, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I am a beginner cook and a new wife and this is a winner with my husband. It's quick and easy and I can use it with chicken or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I used this recipe last night and it was sooo delicious. I will be using this one again. Not to mention, I will be using the gravy from this recipe for other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States