Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was great. Tender. Did need some salt and pepper. And I did not cook them for as long as it says, I did 24 minutes. I like pork to be 160 degrees. Don't forget salt though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My family liked this. It was pretty easy to throw together. I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I did different was season the chops with some seasoning salt and put a little olive oil in the pan to saute them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Thank you for a pork chop recipe that does NOT include cream of mushroom soup!!! Family really enjoyed these chops and I loved the gravy! I salt and peppered the chops before browning them in vegetable oil (instead of cooking spray), removed them to oven safe dish, then sauteed the onions. I didn't have browning sauce (not really sure I know what it is) so I added flour to the oil and onions and cooked for a minute and then added the broth and water to make the gravy. I poured the gravy over the chops and baked covered about 1 hour in a 300 degree oven. I needed my stove top for other dishes or else I would have cooked them on the stove top. Tasty as it was, I would still like to find browning sauce and use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The flavor was good - just needed a little extra salt and pepper for our taste. Added a little cornstarch towards the end to thicken the sauce to a gravy. I really like that I didn't have to fry them first. It's a repeat for us. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Although I used basically the same ingredients, I prepared these chops in a different way. 1. I sauteed the chopped onion and removed it from the skillet, 2. I coated the chops with flour (some seasoning salt added) and browned them in olive oil, 3. added the onions back to the skillet along with about 1/2 cup of water, a tsp of chicken granules and a tsp of worchestershire sauce, 4. covered and simmered for about 30 minutes. Served the pork with cajun roasted sweet potatoes. Very tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Chops were tender but the gravy was bland and well below my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
The idea of this recipe is great; however, the simplifications in making the gravy is why so many of the reviewers are disappointed. To make proper gravy, you must make a roux, otherwise the gravy will taste like flour. To remedy this problem simply pull out the pork chops (they should be rubbed with spices and dredged in the flour first) after browning them, then add the flour and stir over low heat with the onion and garlic until golden brown. Then add in the liquid, extra salt, pepper and paprika, and bring to a boil. Place the pork chops back in, cover, and simmer for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Great recipe and the best part is that it is super easy! I added a little seasoning to the pork chops before browning. They came out juicy and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I made these for supper tonight,okay,I adjusted the recipe for 12 chops,the chops tasted fine but the gravy! My mother tasted it and said 'No,does not taste good at all so I just asked her to make some of her own. Much better. Sometimes the old things are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Smothered chops are a traditional southern comfort food served over a bed of white rice. This recipe is not the best (or tastiest) way of preparing it. Follow this instead: Heat veg oil in deep pot, season your chops (use bone in chops, not boneless) with salt & pepper or even seasoning salt, dredge chops in flour, fry chops just until brown on each side (chops will still be raw in the middle), remove & drain on paper towels, remove all oil from pot except approx 1/4 cup, add onions & sliced bell peppers, brown until tender, add chops back in and add just enough water to cover chops, cook covered on med/low for about 45 minutes. You can stir it a couple times just to make sure everything is cooking evenly. The chops will be tender and a delicious gravy will be ready to add to the rice. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLC1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States