Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I've been using this recipe for years and it's always a hit. Very easy, just make sure you start in more than enough time to ensure table time. Sometimes, I have to let this simmer for 2 hours to tender up my chops. But very delicious and worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
My family LOVED this, even my husband who is not a fan of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I seasoned our meat with black pepper and garlic salt. Otherwise followed the recipe directions. While it was not bad, it was not fabulous either. I found it to be a bit bland. I would use the recipe again as a base, but be sure to add spices to the gravy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I tried this as written first, which is why the 4 stars, good, but could be better. The second time I seared the chops in a very hot pan first, removed them and deglazed the pan with chicken stock. Then I caramelized the onions in the same pan, scraping up all the brown bits from the meat. Next I mixed the flour and stock, whisked that into the onion mix in the pan, and nestled the chops into the sauce and simmered for about 30 min. I used regular stock, not low sodium, so I did not use extra salt, but I did up the garlic. I also used Vidalia onions to give a nice sweet taste to the chops. They came out great, and I served them with garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was great. Tender. Did need some salt and pepper. And I did not cook them for as long as it says, I did 24 minutes. I like pork to be 160 degrees. Don't forget salt though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My family liked this. It was pretty easy to throw together. I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I did different was season the chops with some seasoning salt and put a little olive oil in the pan to saute them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Thank you for a pork chop recipe that does NOT include cream of mushroom soup!!! Family really enjoyed these chops and I loved the gravy! I salt and peppered the chops before browning them in vegetable oil (instead of cooking spray), removed them to oven safe dish, then sauteed the onions. I didn't have browning sauce (not really sure I know what it is) so I added flour to the oil and onions and cooked for a minute and then added the broth and water to make the gravy. I poured the gravy over the chops and baked covered about 1 hour in a 300 degree oven. I needed my stove top for other dishes or else I would have cooked them on the stove top. Tasty as it was, I would still like to find browning sauce and use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The flavor was good - just needed a little extra salt and pepper for our taste. Added a little cornstarch towards the end to thicken the sauce to a gravy. I really like that I didn't have to fry them first. It's a repeat for us. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Although I used basically the same ingredients, I prepared these chops in a different way. 1. I sauteed the chopped onion and removed it from the skillet, 2. I coated the chops with flour (some seasoning salt added) and browned them in olive oil, 3. added the onions back to the skillet along with about 1/2 cup of water, a tsp of chicken granules and a tsp of worchestershire sauce, 4. covered and simmered for about 30 minutes. Served the pork with cajun roasted sweet potatoes. Very tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Chops were tender but the gravy was bland and well below my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States