Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I wish there were ten stars for this recipe! These pork chops were to die for! I don't know where some of you went wrong but, my gravy had all kinds of flavor and so did the chops! Maybe it's the onions and garlic....I have made these at least ten times and they were great everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This was just OK. It wasn't terrible, it wasn't anything I will make again. I didnt have browning sauce, so I just substituted Worcestshire sauce. As mentioned in previous entries, the meat itself was quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I love this dish, and my family does too. I make them all the time. Here is a tip, use corn starch instead of flour, use about 1/2 the amount of corn starch and get the same results. Thanks for a sure winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
I added some Worchestershire sauce, a bit of Tabasco, and a little onion powder and salt to the gravy mixture. It was so good we were scraping our plates. But if you add the Worchestershire, be sure to cut back on the browning sauce or it will be VERY dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
I added a can of cream of mushroom soup to this recipe per my aunt's suggestion. After that, it was awesome. I don't think that the gravy would have been good without the cream of mushroom soup so that is why I am only giving four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I absolutely loved these smothered pork chops and so does my husband. I rarely cook because of the newborn. But this was quick and easy and sat down most of the time while they were simmering. Great recipe and lots of taste!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
All in all, a good meal!! I normaly hate pork chops, but my family loves them, so I decided to try this recipe. Since I live in Louisiana, I definitely had to season the pork chops with some cajun seasonings and added a little to the sauce. The sauce came out great, very creamy, and you couldn't really taste the pork chops (which I liked!!). Definitely try this if you need a quick dinner that doesn't taste quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
These were FANTASTIC! I used my common sense and seasoned to taste,though they really didn't need much! I added garlic mashed potaoes, rolls and a salad,what a meal! Thanks for sharing a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Big hit. Based on the reviews and concern that it might be bland I did season the chops with seasoning salt and pepper before browning them. I also doubled the gravy, you can never have too much gravy in our house. It turned out wonderfully and went great with the mashed potatoes and green beans with blue cheese. Thanks for adding a great meal to our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States