Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
All in all, a good meal!! I normaly hate pork chops, but my family loves them, so I decided to try this recipe. Since I live in Louisiana, I definitely had to season the pork chops with some cajun seasonings and added a little to the sauce. The sauce came out great, very creamy, and you couldn't really taste the pork chops (which I liked!!). Definitely try this if you need a quick dinner that doesn't taste quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
These were FANTASTIC! I used my common sense and seasoned to taste,though they really didn't need much! I added garlic mashed potaoes, rolls and a salad,what a meal! Thanks for sharing a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Big hit. Based on the reviews and concern that it might be bland I did season the chops with seasoning salt and pepper before browning them. I also doubled the gravy, you can never have too much gravy in our house. It turned out wonderfully and went great with the mashed potatoes and green beans with blue cheese. Thanks for adding a great meal to our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
I made this for my family and everyone loved it! My 18 year old son said he had a "new favorite" meal! Great recipe and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Made these a couple weeks ago. They were fantastic!!!! Neither I or boyfriend have had smothered pork chops in years. Along with the green beans, garlic mash potatoes and homemade buttermilk biscuts...brought back a lot of memories. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I followed this recipe exactly and we were all very disappointed. It was bland, with no flavor and I had to add a jar of gravy and seasonings to give it some kind of flavor. To be blunt, it was nasty. My 4 year old who eats anything and everything, wouldn't touch it after the first bite and I ended up having to make her a separate meal. My husband, who loves smothered gravy, asked me never to make it again and we ended up giving it to the dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
This is a great way to make chops with a little less fat. A really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
A Surprise HIT with All! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
These were good, fairly tender. However, I added salt and pepper to "pep" it up a bit. Will fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2000
I sauteed 2 cups sliced mushrooms with onion and garlic, used 1/2 cup white wine in place of water and added some pasley. Chops were tender, sauce was very thick, but overall taste was kind of bland for me. I will make it again and experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States