Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
I think this would turn out better if you season the pork chops to your liking before browning them so they will have a lot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
Wonderful! I served them over rice. The gravy was to die for! I read the other reviews, and was concerned about the dish being too bland, so I added 1/4 tsp. thyme to the chicken broth mixture. Perfect!! I have made these several times, and I always end up with a ton of gravy leftover - makes for wonderful sauce for meatballs! Just mix up 1 lb. ground beef or turkey, 3/4 cup breadcrumbs, 1 beaten egg, 1 Tbl. worchestershire sauce, 1 Tbl. dried minced onions (or 1/2 of a chopped fresh onion), 1 tsp. minced garlic, 3/4 tsp. salt, and 1/4 tsp. pepper. Simmer in heated up sauce for 20 minutes. Voila, another dinner! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This recipie Rocks! It is very easy and quick to prepare and my family just gobbled it up! The meat is tender and the sauce is delicious. (it's even more tender the following day). It's surprising that it's so low in fat consider how delicious this tastes. I added salt to taste and served it with mashed potoatoes and green beans. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I wish there were ten stars for this recipe! These pork chops were to die for! I don't know where some of you went wrong but, my gravy had all kinds of flavor and so did the chops! Maybe it's the onions and garlic....I have made these at least ten times and they were great everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This was just OK. It wasn't terrible, it wasn't anything I will make again. I didnt have browning sauce, so I just substituted Worcestshire sauce. As mentioned in previous entries, the meat itself was quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I love this dish, and my family does too. I make them all the time. Here is a tip, use corn starch instead of flour, use about 1/2 the amount of corn starch and get the same results. Thanks for a sure winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
I added some Worchestershire sauce, a bit of Tabasco, and a little onion powder and salt to the gravy mixture. It was so good we were scraping our plates. But if you add the Worchestershire, be sure to cut back on the browning sauce or it will be VERY dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
I added a can of cream of mushroom soup to this recipe per my aunt's suggestion. After that, it was awesome. I don't think that the gravy would have been good without the cream of mushroom soup so that is why I am only giving four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I absolutely loved these smothered pork chops and so does my husband. I rarely cook because of the newborn. But this was quick and easy and sat down most of the time while they were simmering. Great recipe and lots of taste!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States