Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This was ok but nothing special. I used some of the earlier suggestions, such as using white wine instead of water, salt & peppering the chops before browning and throwing in a can on sliced mushrooms. Still pretty boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
A winner at our house! I just add Lawry's season salt to the chops and a little to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Good recipe but a little too bland. I added white wine and it gave the sauce more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
it was very good after I made a few adjustments. I agree with other reviewers when i say that the recipes as is, is a little bland. I added half a cup of dry red wine in place of the water, seasoned the chops with salt and pepper prior to browning, used worcestershire in place of the browning sauce, added a bay leaf to chops when simmering, and some chopped fresh parsley. Great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Chlebda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
We loved this recipe this evening. I used "common sense" and seasoned the pork the way I knew my husband and I would like it. I used some seasoned pepper and lite salt. I didn't have browning sauce so I used some worcestershire sauce. I wouldn't hesitate to make this substitution again. Thanks for sharing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
This was a really good recipe. Next time I will cut back on the onions and garlic a bit because the flavor was too strong for my 5 and 6 year old. For adults the recipe is fine as is. I also added a fairly good amount of seasoning salt. I think it gave it just the right flavor. The sauce turned out wonderfully. To save time I just threw the garlic and onions in the food processor. I also sauteed them in about a tablespoon of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi 'Bates' Snyder

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
Followed this to the tee but I am sorry to say it was very tasteless. No salt was listed in the recipe so my husband said to please add it and not to bother with this recipe again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
I think this would turn out better if you season the pork chops to your liking before browning them so they will have a lot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
Wonderful! I served them over rice. The gravy was to die for! I read the other reviews, and was concerned about the dish being too bland, so I added 1/4 tsp. thyme to the chicken broth mixture. Perfect!! I have made these several times, and I always end up with a ton of gravy leftover - makes for wonderful sauce for meatballs! Just mix up 1 lb. ground beef or turkey, 3/4 cup breadcrumbs, 1 beaten egg, 1 Tbl. worchestershire sauce, 1 Tbl. dried minced onions (or 1/2 of a chopped fresh onion), 1 tsp. minced garlic, 3/4 tsp. salt, and 1/4 tsp. pepper. Simmer in heated up sauce for 20 minutes. Voila, another dinner! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This recipie Rocks! It is very easy and quick to prepare and my family just gobbled it up! The meat is tender and the sauce is delicious. (it's even more tender the following day). It's surprising that it's so low in fat consider how delicious this tastes. I added salt to taste and served it with mashed potoatoes and green beans. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States