Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This is a good recipe, especially as it is plain so you can tweak it anyway you want. Tonight, I replaced the water with white wine and added dill to the gravy. It tasted great with mashed potatoes. I also used worchestershire sauce as suggested in another review, gave it a bit more of a kick. The chops were tender and moist. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This recipe was very good. I followed some tips of other reviewers by sauteeing the onions and garlic in 1tbsp of butter and replaced the water with white wine. I also used salt, pepper and a seasoning salt. The sauce thickened very nicely. I didn't use the browning sauce, the onions carmelized and browned the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Knight Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Served with mashed potatoes, this was good comfort food on a cold winter's day! I used the browning sauce and added a splash of Worcestershire sauce. I seasoned the chops with salt & pepper and added some extra pepper to the gravy. My only problem was that the garlic was in danger of burning before my chops had browned nicely. Next time I would add the garlic at the same time as the pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
The pork chops were wonderful and gravy is even better. This is a great recipe Jana. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I didn't have any browning sauce, so I used a splash of Coke. I have no idea if it did anything, but I thought I'd be fun anyway. The result was fantastic. My onions even caramelized during the process, which made for a fantastic surprise. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Delicious. The entire family liked this version of pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
as others did i also tweaked this recipe a bit.i seasoned the chops with salt,pepper and season salt before browning.i also used chianti in place of the water and just a touch of steak sauce instead of browning sauce.just a pinch of fresh parsley and a bay leaf for added taste. this recipe turned out just great with a gravy to die for.also a good idea to make buns to sop up all that delicous gravy. thanks jana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This was ok but nothing special. I used some of the earlier suggestions, such as using white wine instead of water, salt & peppering the chops before browning and throwing in a can on sliced mushrooms. Still pretty boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
A winner at our house! I just add Lawry's season salt to the chops and a little to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Good recipe but a little too bland. I added white wine and it gave the sauce more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States