Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This recipe is not bad. I will definitely make again- but I did adjust. Added marsala wine instead of water and seasoned with salt and pepper. Next time I will also season with parsley. It was still good I think- a little bland for my taste but a solid recipe and quick/easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCE7VITA

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This recipe was very good. My 20 month old wanted to eat and eat more! Which she never really eats meat to begin with. I didn't add the browning sauce (didn't have on hand) and cut the garlic in half (kids). Still tasted great to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This is a traditional southern dish that I grew up on in South Carolina. We always pan-fried the chops first, then removed them from the oil once they were brown. We then added the onions until they were carmelized threw the chops back in the pan and added the richness of a can of Cream of Mushroom Soup. Talk about intense flavor. Served over a bed of hot rice it is heavenly. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by South Carolina Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
This was just ok. The gravy was too thick and not very flavorful. 1/3 cup of flour is just too much, I'm afraid. The pork wasn't very tender either. At the last minute I added a bunch of black pepper for flavor. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This is a good recipe, especially as it is plain so you can tweak it anyway you want. Tonight, I replaced the water with white wine and added dill to the gravy. It tasted great with mashed potatoes. I also used worchestershire sauce as suggested in another review, gave it a bit more of a kick. The chops were tender and moist. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This recipe was very good. I followed some tips of other reviewers by sauteeing the onions and garlic in 1tbsp of butter and replaced the water with white wine. I also used salt, pepper and a seasoning salt. The sauce thickened very nicely. I didn't use the browning sauce, the onions carmelized and browned the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Knight Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Served with mashed potatoes, this was good comfort food on a cold winter's day! I used the browning sauce and added a splash of Worcestershire sauce. I seasoned the chops with salt & pepper and added some extra pepper to the gravy. My only problem was that the garlic was in danger of burning before my chops had browned nicely. Next time I would add the garlic at the same time as the pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
The pork chops were wonderful and gravy is even better. This is a great recipe Jana. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I didn't have any browning sauce, so I used a splash of Coke. I have no idea if it did anything, but I thought I'd be fun anyway. The result was fantastic. My onions even caramelized during the process, which made for a fantastic surprise. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Delicious. The entire family liked this version of pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States