Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Awesome recipe, well worth it, my husband doesn't even like pork chops, but he loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This is a good base recipe, but to add more flavor be sure to season the chops well and add about 1/4 cup of diced green bell pepper, a little worstershire sauce, black pepper and a few drops of hot pepper sauce. Serve over hot Uncle Ben's Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANA1T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
surprising favorite used wine instead of water, added worchestershire, dill, parsley, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Sooo good. I made this exactly as the recipe stated other than using 1/4 cup flour rather than 1/3 cup and I omitted the browning sauce, but added a splash of Worchestire sauce. I cooked my porkchops for 45 minutes because they were pretty thick. I think next time I'll just do 30 minutes though. The gravy was amazing! I served it with mashed potatoes and asparagus spears. Hubby kept saying, "god this is good!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This recipe is not bad. I will definitely make again- but I did adjust. Added marsala wine instead of water and seasoned with salt and pepper. Next time I will also season with parsley. It was still good I think- a little bland for my taste but a solid recipe and quick/easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCE7VITA

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This recipe was very good. My 20 month old wanted to eat and eat more! Which she never really eats meat to begin with. I didn't add the browning sauce (didn't have on hand) and cut the garlic in half (kids). Still tasted great to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This is a traditional southern dish that I grew up on in South Carolina. We always pan-fried the chops first, then removed them from the oil once they were brown. We then added the onions until they were carmelized threw the chops back in the pan and added the richness of a can of Cream of Mushroom Soup. Talk about intense flavor. Served over a bed of hot rice it is heavenly. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by South Carolina Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
This was just ok. The gravy was too thick and not very flavorful. 1/3 cup of flour is just too much, I'm afraid. The pork wasn't very tender either. At the last minute I added a bunch of black pepper for flavor. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This is a good recipe, especially as it is plain so you can tweak it anyway you want. Tonight, I replaced the water with white wine and added dill to the gravy. It tasted great with mashed potatoes. I also used worchestershire sauce as suggested in another review, gave it a bit more of a kick. The chops were tender and moist. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This recipe was very good. I followed some tips of other reviewers by sauteeing the onions and garlic in 1tbsp of butter and replaced the water with white wine. I also used salt, pepper and a seasoning salt. The sauce thickened very nicely. I didn't use the browning sauce, the onions carmelized and browned the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Knight Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States