Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
This was really good. The only thing I did different was seasoned the pork chops first (tony's and garlic pepper)Then I added mushrooms in with the sauce. A side of rice, and the meal was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I set out to make this recipe exactly as directed and by the time I was finished it turned out somewhat different. Such is cooking. I didn't have any browning sauce so I browned the pork chops really well and set them aside. As I was cooking the onions and garlic I thought of the package of mushrooms I had in the fridge and figured they would go well. So I added am 8 oz package of sliced white mushrooms. Much to my chagrin, I only had just over 1/2 cup of chicken stock. Instead of using water alone, I used 1/2 cup of apple juice and topped it up with water. Lots of salt and pepper too. It came out amazing! I served it with some home fries and peas and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
My husband wanted me to try something new with pork chops and I found this recipe, it was great. My 2 year old couldn't get enough of the gravy. I made mashed potatoes as a side but I would say it would go great with rice also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cross Plains, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Excellant recipe! I reduced the flour to 1/4 cup, added salt, pepper and a little summer savory. Was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I made this the other night and no one was too pleased. The gravy just seemed really bland and I had to add seasonins to perk it up. On the bright side, the chops were extremely tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I read the reviews before making this and noted that most were adding flavor. It does need it. I seasoned the pork and the flour for the sauce. It came out great, my family loved it. The pork was tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Wonderful southern style smothered chops. Great gravy! Excellent over rice or potatos... a definate favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was a real winner at my house! Next time I'll add a little more seasoning to the chops and the gravy, it was just a tad bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This turned out wonderfully! I used thinner chops (that I had to debone) and I cut the chops into smaller, just above bite-size pieces. I seasoned them well and doctored up the gravy with extra seasonings and a little hot sauce. I also sauted some chopped celery with the onions and garlic. So easy to make and customize! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Pretty good but next time I'd use a little less garlic...which is weird cause I LOVE garlic. I found though that it was too overpowering in this particular recipe. Also I'll try beef broth instead of chicken, but overall a good recipe. One more thing, watch it carefully or you'll overcook the chops like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States