Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Awful. Now to be honest, I'm not the best cook and have yet to make pork chops that were "tender". I followed the recipe decreasing the flour to 1/4 cup (as suggested) and used Worcestershire, rosemary, season salt & pepper - also as suggested by reviewers. Cooked boneless chops a little less than 30 minutes. They were DRY. The sauce was VERY thin and had a "funky" taste to it and very little flavor. Now again, I could have made a mistake somewhere, but I double checked to make sure I didn't miss anything. These were NOT good. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Excellent! My pork chops are ususally tough and or dry. These were delicious. I didn't have brown sauce so I used worchestire sauce. I used marsala wine in place of water, only 2 garlic cloves and added rosemary and pepper. Served it with rice, but next time it will be with noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is one of my husband's favorite meals now! I serve it with mashed potatoes so you can use the gravy. The only thing I do differently is to brown the porkchops first, before I do anything else. This recipe is one of the reasons my husband has gained 15 lbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EIRAMASIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I loved this recipe. I seasoned my pork chops before I cooked them and I also seasoned the gravy a little bit while it was cooking. This gave a good spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maurice, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
these came out so good and juicy! i have already made them 3 times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I felt it was a good base. I had to add extra spices because I felt the overall recipe lacked any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was a great quick supper dish. Thoroughly enjoyed the chops and served with eggnoodles it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised how well these turned out...tender, with a very yummy gravy. Husband has requested them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Ok I've made this 3 times in the last 2 months tonight will be the 4th. Love it and my husband says its the best thing I ever made. thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
My pork chops came out so tough and dry! I added more of the browning sauce, garlic, salt and pepper an still found the gravy to be bland. Maybe a good starting point for a nice pork recipe but it definitely needs some tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States