Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Reitha
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I browned the chops first, then removed them from the pan while I cooked the onions and garlic. Then added the things for the gravy (I probly made 4 x the amount called for) added 1 tbsp Worcestershire too then put the chops and their juices in the gravy, covered it, and cooked real low for about an hour. Oh and I used water instead of chicken broth, the Worcestershire sauce gives it plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reitha
Home Town: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I wish I coukd rate this even higher. It was so yummy, and I didn't feel like I splurged on my low cal diet. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Made this - sort of! I seasoned 5 very thick boneless chops with salt, pepper, and Emeril Lagasse's Essence before browning. For the sauce I used one 12 ounce beer, a can of condensed beef consommé, Dijon mustard, Worcestershire sauce, & the flour. Served it with mashed potatoes and collard greens. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOKA75

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it just didn't taste right. The sauce was not a savory brown color it looked more like gravy. Just weird. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I just made this recipe. I was skeptical from everyone saying it was bland, chops were tough and the gravy was thin or to thick. I followed the directions to the letter and it was AWESOME! Chops fell apart they were so tender and my picky boyfriend even loved it, no problems with gravy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I will definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I just made this recipe for supper. My husband and I really enjoyed this with homemade mashed potatoes and fresh carrots. The only change I made was to season the chops with Tony Chachere's cajun seasoning before browning and I added salt and fresh cracked pepper to the gravy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Great recipe. In place of white flour I used wheat flour. Simple and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIE811

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This turned out really well, but since I didn't have browning sauce, I had to add lots of seasoning. I'd make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbradr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I read that it was bland so when I was browning the chops I also seasoned them with some johnnys and it turned out great and if it's too thick just add some more water... It's simple and the wife and kid loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States