Smothered Pierogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I used ground beef because I did not have sausage. The flavor was good, but just as I suspected it was on the dry side. It needs some sort of sauce or gravy to hold everything together. I would like to try again using the sausage like the recipe states, but maybe use a little beef broth and flour or cornstarch to make a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I was really excited to try these so I guess I set myself high up for disappointment. They came out a little dry. They could definately benefit from some kind of sauce, maybe even just some diced tomatoes to add at least a little wetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a tasty way to make frozen pierogies a bit more fancy but I didn't follow this recipe too tightly. (hence the 3 stars) I changed out mozzarella for gouda because I don't like mozzarella and only use about 5oz. Also took out mushrooms and sausage because people on my house don't eat either and subbed in onions and another seasonal veggie (have used carrots, green beans and corn all were good). Season mix is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I was looking for a way to use periogies differently then just frying them in butter. When I found this I knew it would be a hit with the family. With cheese and bell peppers, what could go wrong? I added extra bell peppers and we all decided that more cheese was need but that may just be my family. The spices were perfectly blended and it tasted very good. The sausage was different for us but when eaten with a bite of periogie it tasted much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkfaerie129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenn1277
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I made this recipe without the sausage and it was still delicious. It's very pleasing to the eye as well. Some reviewers on here say they boiled the piergoies instead of sauteing them but I don't recommend that. Boiling them makes them dough-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I thought this was amazing. The kids not so much and ate the plain pierogies. (Keep in mind they eat them plain even when I make a red sauce to go on top) I used a packet of McCormick's pork gravy and a little water to add that gravy texture everyone else said it needed. Maybe next time I'll try beef gravy as it was a bit too much pork. I will definitely be making this the next time I make pierogies if only for myself, let the kids eat it plain...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
definitively boil or microwave the perogies first; otherwise they take forever and may even burn the outside before the inside even thaws
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I made this last night and I didn't think my kids could eat so much. My 10 year old son had two huge portions and so did my daughter. I had made a little more than was called for and there was not one bite left after dinner. This will be a meal I will be making over and over again. Thanks so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is such a yummy, easy, relatively inexpensive recipe. The recipe was wonderful as is, but I did make a few changes just based on personal taste and preference. I made the sausage into meatballs because the hubby like a bigger bite. I left out the mushrooms just because I'm not terribly fond of them. And then I added a can of tomato sauce for no other reason then because I though it sounded good. The finally result was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Thought I would change up my usual recipe. This was a lot more work. I slice partially frozen kielbasa in a pan with a slivered onion and some butter. By then, the pierogies are partially thawed, throw those in, and course chop a tomato and add to pan (seeds, juice, n all).Bring to a slow simmer for about 15 minutes till pierogies are done. Serve with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States