Smothered Pierogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Maybe some sauce would make this a four or five for me. Was more than edible and I may try again, but not rotation worthy as is IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Loved this and so did the family. Used hamburger instead and to stop it from being dry I put a can of diced tomatoes in. YUMMMY. I also used cheddar cheese instead. It all went... No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Pierogies is one of our favorite dishes. There are so many ways to use them and this was a good one. I browned the sausage, peppers and onions but did skip the mushrooms. The one change I make with pierogies, in all recipes, is to put them in a bowl of hot tap water to thaw. After draining them, I browned them in the skillet without the olive oil. I plated the pierogies first, topped with sausage mixture and added fresh diced tomatoes. I then topped mine with a small amount of sour cream. Served with homemade applesauce and 'Uncle White's Bread Machine Rolls' from AR. We enjoyed a wonderful meal. Thanks, ANGCHICK for sharing your version of pierogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! I used Johnsonville hot Italian sausage, I love the kick it brought to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I loved this dish; I deleted the shrooms cause I'm not a fungi kind of person, absolutely a must try though, next time I'll try making the pierogies by hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Thought I would change up my usual recipe. This was a lot more work. I slice partially frozen kielbasa in a pan with a slivered onion and some butter. By then, the pierogies are partially thawed, throw those in, and course chop a tomato and add to pan (seeds, juice, n all).Bring to a slow simmer for about 15 minutes till pierogies are done. Serve with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I've always liked frozen pierogies, but wanted a little more flavor to them. This recipe fit the bill perfectly. We all loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I thought this was amazing. The kids not so much and ate the plain pierogies. (Keep in mind they eat them plain even when I make a red sauce to go on top) I used a packet of McCormick's pork gravy and a little water to add that gravy texture everyone else said it needed. Maybe next time I'll try beef gravy as it was a bit too much pork. I will definitely be making this the next time I make pierogies if only for myself, let the kids eat it plain...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
It was nice to have a new way to make pierogies. I did boil them as many others suggested. I used a little of red, orange and yellow peppers instead of the green(not a fan of green peppers). It was a good meal, but it was a bit dry.....it definitely needs a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is a easy simple dinner, You change this dish easily with what you have on hand. I the seasoning mix is very good. Either boiled or pan fryed pierogies are good. I sauteed onions and zucchini then added the pierogies then topped with mozz. cheese until melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States