Smothered Pierogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I loved this dish; I deleted the shrooms cause I'm not a fungi kind of person, absolutely a must try though, next time I'll try making the pierogies by hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Thought I would change up my usual recipe. This was a lot more work. I slice partially frozen kielbasa in a pan with a slivered onion and some butter. By then, the pierogies are partially thawed, throw those in, and course chop a tomato and add to pan (seeds, juice, n all).Bring to a slow simmer for about 15 minutes till pierogies are done. Serve with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I've always liked frozen pierogies, but wanted a little more flavor to them. This recipe fit the bill perfectly. We all loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I thought this was amazing. The kids not so much and ate the plain pierogies. (Keep in mind they eat them plain even when I make a red sauce to go on top) I used a packet of McCormick's pork gravy and a little water to add that gravy texture everyone else said it needed. Maybe next time I'll try beef gravy as it was a bit too much pork. I will definitely be making this the next time I make pierogies if only for myself, let the kids eat it plain...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
It was nice to have a new way to make pierogies. I did boil them as many others suggested. I used a little of red, orange and yellow peppers instead of the green(not a fan of green peppers). It was a good meal, but it was a bit dry.....it definitely needs a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is a easy simple dinner, You change this dish easily with what you have on hand. I the seasoning mix is very good. Either boiled or pan fryed pierogies are good. I sauteed onions and zucchini then added the pierogies then topped with mozz. cheese until melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This is a great dish with a lot of options- it's easy to adapt according to what you have on hand, and it's completely satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cook, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I was really excited to try these so I guess I set myself high up for disappointment. They came out a little dry. They could definately benefit from some kind of sauce, maybe even just some diced tomatoes to add at least a little wetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
definitively boil or microwave the perogies first; otherwise they take forever and may even burn the outside before the inside even thaws
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a tasty way to make frozen pierogies a bit more fancy but I didn't follow this recipe too tightly. (hence the 3 stars) I changed out mozzarella for gouda because I don't like mozzarella and only use about 5oz. Also took out mushrooms and sausage because people on my house don't eat either and subbed in onions and another seasonal veggie (have used carrots, green beans and corn all were good). Season mix is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States