Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Absolutely delicious! I started to cook at 6:45 and i was done by 7:30. The only thing I changed was I added a layer of refried beans mixed with salsa and a layer of reduced fat mexican cheese blend. So it went tortilla, refried bean mix, riccotta cheese mix, meat, sprinkle cheese. Then on the very top I put another layer of riccotta and then sprinkled the cheese. I served it with fat free tortilla chips and corn. My husband hates beans and mexican but he cleaned his plate. He couldn't figure out what the bean layer was - he just liked the creamy taste - Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This really is a delicious and versatile recipe. This is the 3rd time I've made it now and this is how we've decided we like it best: 2 10 inch tortillas & then 1 halved tortilla on each side (straight side to the edge of the pan). Half the meat mixture (2 lb ground turkey, diced yellow onion, taco seasoning, 1 14.5 can diced tomatoes & 1 can rotele), 2 cups shredded monterey/colby. Another layer of tortillas. Next is the ricotta with 1 egg and 1 4 oz can chilies whipped together and a can of corn over the top. Another layer of tortillas. Rest of meat with 2 small cans sliced black olives. Another layer of tortillas. 8 oz sour cream + 8 oz salsa mixed over the top of that, topped with 2 cups of mexi-cheese and sliced green onions on top. Bake as directed. This makes enough to feed myself and 3 growing boys with plenty to take into work to share. Thanks so much for the ideas and the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This was very yummy and the kids loved it! I did change a few things though, I used corn tortillas instead of flour, I decreased the water to about 1/2 cup, and I added pepper, chili powder, and some other spices to the ricotta. I also added cheese (a combination of cheddar and monterey jack) to the layers and on top. Very yummy!! This made enough for 3 meals for my family, so I froze the extra helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
Great recipe. This is what a "lasagna" is supposed to be--all the others are just meat and noodles. The ricotta makes it a nice blend of Italian and Mexican. I finished the top with some shredded Monterey Jack cheese and black olives. Everyone loved it, even a rather picky 9 year old. Also a good recipe to use up leftovers--you can add pinto or black beans, sweet corn or extra salsa--it's a very forgiving dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Oh my Goodness!! This recipe is AWESOME! And I don't even really LIKE Mexican food so much...I used half a packet of taco seasoning and added some cumin, chili powder and red and black pepper, with a can of garlic-and-onion-diced-tomatoes, half a can of mushrooms, and the green onions all simmered w/ the ground turkey for about half an hour...I also used enchilada sauce, spooning a little on the bottom of the pan first, then layered as the recipe directed, using cottage chz instead of ricotta, topping off w/ the rest of the enchilada sauce and just a little sprinkling of shredded mozzarella and shredded cheddar. I covered this with foil for most of the bake time, uncovering the last 10 mins...Mmmm! Wonderful! I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I totally changed this recipe.The changes I made were.... I toasted my tortillas until golden brown, used 1 can of Rotel tomatoes (diced tomatoes and chiles), added cumin, paprika, pepper and garlic powder to the ricotta and no water! My husband loved it and I had seconds but I still think it needs something. Next time I will add tomato paste to the meat mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Great recipe, I also changed it a bit. The most wonderful change was mashing up an avocado into the ricotta. Turned out a fantastic light green color. Changes I made: Added avocado to the ricotta, No water, Mixed refried black beans and salsa as a layer on its own, Chopped red peppers into the meat mixture while roasting, Added layers of sliced cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oddible

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I've made this several times and will make it many, many, more times - consider it a staple! First, if you're using flour tortillas, take the time while prepping the other ingredients to toast the tortillas just for a few minutes. I always make enough for leftovers the next day and this seemed to be a good solution for the sogginess. I added black beans to the meat mixture and only drained them a little so i didn't need the 2 cups of water after that. I usually cut the taco seasoning to only 1/2 a packet. I usually don't keep green chili peppers on hand so i substitute chopped green onion or fresh chives. Only 4 stars, since there were modifications but still a keeper. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This was, to put it simply "Awful." For the time and effort spent I could of made "Real" lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Imade last night. My very picky husband said "smells good, never had this before" good thing I said. "I never made it before either" after he said that he was my guinne pig, he devoured 2 large helpings. I must say that this was very good and soooo easy. One thing I did do was let it rest out of the oven for 5 min. after cooking and it held together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States