Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Absolutely delicious! I started to cook at 6:45 and i was done by 7:30. The only thing I changed was I added a layer of refried beans mixed with salsa and a layer of reduced fat mexican cheese blend. So it went tortilla, refried bean mix, riccotta cheese mix, meat, sprinkle cheese. Then on the very top I put another layer of riccotta and then sprinkled the cheese. I served it with fat free tortilla chips and corn. My husband hates beans and mexican but he cleaned his plate. He couldn't figure out what the bean layer was - he just liked the creamy taste - Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This really is a delicious and versatile recipe. This is the 3rd time I've made it now and this is how we've decided we like it best: 2 10 inch tortillas & then 1 halved tortilla on each side (straight side to the edge of the pan). Half the meat mixture (2 lb ground turkey, diced yellow onion, taco seasoning, 1 14.5 can diced tomatoes & 1 can rotele), 2 cups shredded monterey/colby. Another layer of tortillas. Next is the ricotta with 1 egg and 1 4 oz can chilies whipped together and a can of corn over the top. Another layer of tortillas. Rest of meat with 2 small cans sliced black olives. Another layer of tortillas. 8 oz sour cream + 8 oz salsa mixed over the top of that, topped with 2 cups of mexi-cheese and sliced green onions on top. Bake as directed. This makes enough to feed myself and 3 growing boys with plenty to take into work to share. Thanks so much for the ideas and the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsimon99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This was very yummy and the kids loved it! I did change a few things though, I used corn tortillas instead of flour, I decreased the water to about 1/2 cup, and I added pepper, chili powder, and some other spices to the ricotta. I also added cheese (a combination of cheddar and monterey jack) to the layers and on top. Very yummy!! This made enough for 3 meals for my family, so I froze the extra helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
Great recipe. This is what a "lasagna" is supposed to be--all the others are just meat and noodles. The ricotta makes it a nice blend of Italian and Mexican. I finished the top with some shredded Monterey Jack cheese and black olives. Everyone loved it, even a rather picky 9 year old. Also a good recipe to use up leftovers--you can add pinto or black beans, sweet corn or extra salsa--it's a very forgiving dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Oh my Goodness!! This recipe is AWESOME! And I don't even really LIKE Mexican food so much...I used half a packet of taco seasoning and added some cumin, chili powder and red and black pepper, with a can of garlic-and-onion-diced-tomatoes, half a can of mushrooms, and the green onions all simmered w/ the ground turkey for about half an hour...I also used enchilada sauce, spooning a little on the bottom of the pan first, then layered as the recipe directed, using cottage chz instead of ricotta, topping off w/ the rest of the enchilada sauce and just a little sprinkling of shredded mozzarella and shredded cheddar. I covered this with foil for most of the bake time, uncovering the last 10 mins...Mmmm! Wonderful! I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I totally changed this recipe.The changes I made were.... I toasted my tortillas until golden brown, used 1 can of Rotel tomatoes (diced tomatoes and chiles), added cumin, paprika, pepper and garlic powder to the ricotta and no water! My husband loved it and I had seconds but I still think it needs something. Next time I will add tomato paste to the meat mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Great recipe, I also changed it a bit. The most wonderful change was mashing up an avocado into the ricotta. Turned out a fantastic light green color. Changes I made: Added avocado to the ricotta, No water, Mixed refried black beans and salsa as a layer on its own, Chopped red peppers into the meat mixture while roasting, Added layers of sliced cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oddible

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I've made this several times and will make it many, many, more times - consider it a staple! First, if you're using flour tortillas, take the time while prepping the other ingredients to toast the tortillas just for a few minutes. I always make enough for leftovers the next day and this seemed to be a good solution for the sogginess. I added black beans to the meat mixture and only drained them a little so i didn't need the 2 cups of water after that. I usually cut the taco seasoning to only 1/2 a packet. I usually don't keep green chili peppers on hand so i substitute chopped green onion or fresh chives. Only 4 stars, since there were modifications but still a keeper. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This was, to put it simply "Awful." For the time and effort spent I could of made "Real" lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Imade last night. My very picky husband said "smells good, never had this before" good thing I said. "I never made it before either" after he said that he was my guinne pig, he devoured 2 large helpings. I must say that this was very good and soooo easy. One thing I did do was let it rest out of the oven for 5 min. after cooking and it held together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States