Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2002
Great recipe. This is what a "lasagna" is supposed to be--all the others are just meat and noodles. The ricotta makes it a nice blend of Italian and Mexican. I finished the top with some shredded Monterey Jack cheese and black olives. Everyone loved it, even a rather picky 9 year old. Also a good recipe to use up leftovers--you can add pinto or black beans, sweet corn or extra salsa--it's a very forgiving dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
My family of six absolutely LOVED this receipe, so much so, after my 11 year old daughter took her first bite, she asked could she have the same thing for lunch! It's a great recipe with a wonderful Mexican twist, and I am a major Mexican food lover. Like another reviewer, I added mixed Jack & Cheddar Mexican cheese on the top which made it even bubbly and colorful, with the sour cream/salsa garnish as an excellent final touch. It's a quick and easy dinner for Mom's on the go, but everyone thinks you slaved for hours over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Absolutely delicious! I started to cook at 6:45 and i was done by 7:30. The only thing I changed was I added a layer of refried beans mixed with salsa and a layer of reduced fat mexican cheese blend. So it went tortilla, refried bean mix, riccotta cheese mix, meat, sprinkle cheese. Then on the very top I put another layer of riccotta and then sprinkled the cheese. I served it with fat free tortilla chips and corn. My husband hates beans and mexican but he cleaned his plate. He couldn't figure out what the bean layer was - he just liked the creamy taste - Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This was so good!!!!! My boyfriend laughed at the idea of a Mexican lasagna, but he was stopped in his tracks after the first bite! I topped the lasagna with Monterey Jack cheese and black olives and served it with green olive and cheese stuffed bread. Mmmmm Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
This recipe was very good though we like our Mexican food hotter and spicier. I added crushed red pepper, Mexican seasoning, chili powder, minced garlic, salt and pepper. Also, the ingredients call for taco seasoning mix and 2 cups of water, but they are not included in the directions. I used 1 cup of water and that was plenty. Took other's suggestions and added the refried bean layer, with cheese in layers and cheese and black olives on top. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Oh my Goodness!! This recipe is AWESOME! And I don't even really LIKE Mexican food so much...I used half a packet of taco seasoning and added some cumin, chili powder and red and black pepper, with a can of garlic-and-onion-diced-tomatoes, half a can of mushrooms, and the green onions all simmered w/ the ground turkey for about half an hour...I also used enchilada sauce, spooning a little on the bottom of the pan first, then layered as the recipe directed, using cottage chz instead of ricotta, topping off w/ the rest of the enchilada sauce and just a little sprinkling of shredded mozzarella and shredded cheddar. I covered this with foil for most of the bake time, uncovering the last 10 mins...Mmmm! Wonderful! I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This recipe turned out okay. I don't recommend the flour tortillas because they became so mushy and soft that they gave the lasagne a poor texture. It tasted okay, but I will probably never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Mmmmm, was this yummy!!! I used ground beef and rotel tomatoes with lime and cilantro. Hubby and I both loved it. It was even good the next day. Thanks for a great recipe, Brenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Good, same day. Left overs trereat with care, as they become very soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
I took this to a mexican themed pot luck and everyone loved it. I didn't think it was that great at first - just okay - but it grew on me and I was mad the next day when I didn't have leftovers. I will be making this again. I did pour out some of the liquid from the meat sauce (about 1/2 cup) because it seemed like so much. It turned out perfect. I also added black olives and cheese to the top just before it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States