Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was just ok for us. Probably won't make again as there are better Mexican casseroles out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kentwood, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Our family loved this dish. My son was not crazy about the green onions, but we liked the flavor and texture they added. I made the following changes: reduced amt of water to about 1 cup, added fresh cilantro to the ricotta mixture and salsa/sour cream mixture, and added shredded cheddar in each layer. I gave this recipe a 4 star because the tortillas were soggy, but I am not sure how you could avoid that. Maybe either using corn or toasting them as mention in other reviews would have made a difference. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was very good - the taste is fantastic (I did as other reviewers suggested and added a layer of refried beans w/ spicy salsa and a light layer of cheese to each layer of tortillas). So, it went like this: tortillas, bean/salsa mix, ricotta cheese mix, meat mix, thin layer of cheese; repeat about 3 times and finish with tortillas and a light sprinkling of cheese and green onion. I thought, however, it was a bit of a pain to do all of the layers - it took me almost 30 minutes just to put it together and I dirtied up many dishes. Also, I used reduced fat ricotta cheese and lean turkey breast - for a 3x3 square piece, there is about 5 grams of fat per serving and it tastes fine. It's very filling, so one square was fine for me and hubby had two. Finally, there is a TON of food. I would recommend assembling in two 8x8 pans and freezing one prior to cooking. There is no way our family of 3 can eat all of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Great, easy recipe, that is open to a lot of variations. Will definately be experimenting with this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Awesome recipe! Followed the advice to add a layer of beans/salsa/cheese and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacklick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
my family loved this recipe! Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
OMG this was so good we loved it was filling and tasty and couldn't get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie McCathern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
So disappointing! Ingredients looked like it was going to work... it certainly has been rated high... just did NOT do it for us! Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Very good dish! I used ground beef (85/15) instead of the turkey, also in the final 5 minutes of the bake time I added a 1 1/2 cups of shreaded cheddar cheese. Very good and a very quick recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Mosley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I made this recipe this evening and my family loved it. I did have to tweek it a bit. I used a 1 1/2 lb. of beef,(family is not turkey fans). Instead of just two tortillas on each layer I used three, so I could completely cover the 9 x 13 pan. I also placed sliced colby jack cheese on top of each of the tortilla layers, then smoothed the ricota mixture over that. For the meat mixture I used a 15oz can of tomato sauce, instead of the diced tomatoes. My family isn't big on chuncky tomatoes. I cut the water way down to just about 3/4 to 1 cup instead. I had a few extra tortillas and I cut them into triangles, placed them on a baking sheet, drizzled them with olive oil, sprinkled them with some Goya Adobo seasoning, took a brush and spread the oil and seasoning evenly on each slice and baked them at 400 degrees. They were sooooooooooo good. I will make those on their own often. Great snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States