Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was just ok for us. Probably won't make again as there are better Mexican casseroles out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kentwood, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Our family loved this dish. My son was not crazy about the green onions, but we liked the flavor and texture they added. I made the following changes: reduced amt of water to about 1 cup, added fresh cilantro to the ricotta mixture and salsa/sour cream mixture, and added shredded cheddar in each layer. I gave this recipe a 4 star because the tortillas were soggy, but I am not sure how you could avoid that. Maybe either using corn or toasting them as mention in other reviews would have made a difference. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was very good - the taste is fantastic (I did as other reviewers suggested and added a layer of refried beans w/ spicy salsa and a light layer of cheese to each layer of tortillas). So, it went like this: tortillas, bean/salsa mix, ricotta cheese mix, meat mix, thin layer of cheese; repeat about 3 times and finish with tortillas and a light sprinkling of cheese and green onion. I thought, however, it was a bit of a pain to do all of the layers - it took me almost 30 minutes just to put it together and I dirtied up many dishes. Also, I used reduced fat ricotta cheese and lean turkey breast - for a 3x3 square piece, there is about 5 grams of fat per serving and it tastes fine. It's very filling, so one square was fine for me and hubby had two. Finally, there is a TON of food. I would recommend assembling in two 8x8 pans and freezing one prior to cooking. There is no way our family of 3 can eat all of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Great, easy recipe, that is open to a lot of variations. Will definately be experimenting with this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Awesome recipe! Followed the advice to add a layer of beans/salsa/cheese and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacklick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
my family loved this recipe! Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
OMG this was so good we loved it was filling and tasty and couldn't get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie McCathern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
So disappointing! Ingredients looked like it was going to work... it certainly has been rated high... just did NOT do it for us! Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Very good dish! I used ground beef (85/15) instead of the turkey, also in the final 5 minutes of the bake time I added a 1 1/2 cups of shreaded cheddar cheese. Very good and a very quick recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Mosley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I made this recipe this evening and my family loved it. I did have to tweek it a bit. I used a 1 1/2 lb. of beef,(family is not turkey fans). Instead of just two tortillas on each layer I used three, so I could completely cover the 9 x 13 pan. I also placed sliced colby jack cheese on top of each of the tortilla layers, then smoothed the ricota mixture over that. For the meat mixture I used a 15oz can of tomato sauce, instead of the diced tomatoes. My family isn't big on chuncky tomatoes. I cut the water way down to just about 3/4 to 1 cup instead. I had a few extra tortillas and I cut them into triangles, placed them on a baking sheet, drizzled them with olive oil, sprinkled them with some Goya Adobo seasoning, took a brush and spread the oil and seasoning evenly on each slice and baked them at 400 degrees. They were sooooooooooo good. I will make those on their own often. Great snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States