Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Recipe was good and a great entree for our family of four, we ate half and froze half. I did add a layer of refried beans as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
great! as someone suggested I used green chili enchilada sauce in the bottom of baking dish and then drizzled the rest over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I realize I am the minority here, but I didn't care for the ricotta in this recipe. DH thought it was tasty, so that is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Just tried this recipe tonight and it was not a big hit with anyone. I followed the recipe without all the changes - it really bothers me when someone gives a recipe 5 stars, but they've completely changed it. So, if following the recipe, it's very bland and definitely needs work. I liked the other suggestions about adding cheese, yellow onion and spices. I may try it again with a LOT of changes, but will not make again like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I thought this recipe was okay; it had a lot of good spicy flavor. It had an odd texture, though, which I think was due to layering the ricotta/egg mixture on top of the tortillas. It came out soft and tasting rather like, I would say, imitation lasagna noodles. I didn't mind it, but my husband wasn't too fond of it. I used ground beef instead of turkey, and after adding the next five ingredients to the meat, let the sauce simmer for 10 minutes to allow the flavors to meld and the onions to get tender. I also topped the casserole with 2 cups of shredded pepperjack cheese, and increased the baking time to 30 minutes, so the liquid from the meat sauce would be adequately cooked in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is a nice change from an Italian lasagne. Lighter and spicier using turkey mince it is also good cold. I would recommend serving some Doritos or other corn snacks with the salsa though to provide some alternative texture. Crusty bread is also good. Altogether, a 'keeper'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mintychocychip

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doncaster, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This recipe makes a delicious, quick meal. The only thing I did differently than the directions was to add shredded cheese to the top before baking. I would highly recommend this to your list of recipes to try, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was pretty good, I think the only reason I wasn't thrilled with it was because I really don't like the texture of ricotta cheese personally... if I make this again, will have to think about what I can replace it with... the family enjoyed it overall, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I just thought this was really bland. I actually didn't care for the ricotta and it needed more kick to be a mexican dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I have mixed thoughts on this recipe. I am only giving it three stars cause I did change alot of the recipe to suit my taste. I think there is way too much water for this recipe. I only used 1 cup. I think the diced tomatoes should be drained. I added a sm can of sliced olives and a can of refried beans. I also added colby jack cheese to two of the layers. I may try this again, but I will make some added changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States