Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Easy and very good! I reduced the water to 1/3 cup and substituted 3/4 C. salsa for the chiles. Simmer for a few minutes for the meat mixture to thicken. Other than that I followed the directions and the result was great! Good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was a wonderful, easy, quick recipe! The only change I made was to use Gimme Lean meat substitute instead of turkey. I used whole wheat flour tortillas, and I thought they soaked up the juices well without getting too soggy. I also added shredded pepper jack cheese to the top (to me, casseroles like this always need SOMETHING on top). This recipe is definitely a winner, and I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This one's a keeper. I did take some reviewer's advice and did not add the water. I also added a layer of refried beans,layered shredded cheese and topped with cheese. I also toasted 8 inch whole wheat tortillas a little. I also liked it topped with guacamole, salsa & sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
The whole family loved it. I followed the original recipe and it was great. I will probably play with it next time, but I see that more as "what toppings do you like on your tacos?" My husband scrambled the leftovers with eggs and a little shredded cheese - tasted just like a great breakfast burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Recipe was good and a great entree for our family of four, we ate half and froze half. I did add a layer of refried beans as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
great! as someone suggested I used green chili enchilada sauce in the bottom of baking dish and then drizzled the rest over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I realize I am the minority here, but I didn't care for the ricotta in this recipe. DH thought it was tasty, so that is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Just tried this recipe tonight and it was not a big hit with anyone. I followed the recipe without all the changes - it really bothers me when someone gives a recipe 5 stars, but they've completely changed it. So, if following the recipe, it's very bland and definitely needs work. I liked the other suggestions about adding cheese, yellow onion and spices. I may try it again with a LOT of changes, but will not make again like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I thought this recipe was okay; it had a lot of good spicy flavor. It had an odd texture, though, which I think was due to layering the ricotta/egg mixture on top of the tortillas. It came out soft and tasting rather like, I would say, imitation lasagna noodles. I didn't mind it, but my husband wasn't too fond of it. I used ground beef instead of turkey, and after adding the next five ingredients to the meat, let the sauce simmer for 10 minutes to allow the flavors to meld and the onions to get tender. I also topped the casserole with 2 cups of shredded pepperjack cheese, and increased the baking time to 30 minutes, so the liquid from the meat sauce would be adequately cooked in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is a nice change from an Italian lasagne. Lighter and spicier using turkey mince it is also good cold. I would recommend serving some Doritos or other corn snacks with the salsa though to provide some alternative texture. Crusty bread is also good. Altogether, a 'keeper'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mintychocychip

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doncaster, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States