Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was just okay...a one time meal to use up Ricotta cheese that we had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA
Photo by ap6817
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Muy Perfecto!!! I loved it. I followed the recipe to a T, and just add sour cream when served. My entire family loved it! It was very fulfilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ap6817

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Very good - I omit a star because I changed it a bit after the initial go-around. I didn't care for the ricotta (personal preference) and so used shredded mozz/cheddar instead. Also, I use a little hot salsa in addition to the veggies listed - gives it a little oomph. Good basic recipe, though, and I do use it quite frequently. It's also good cut in small squares as an app on game day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This was an easy meal to prepare and my entire family LOVED it! Even my picky eater asked for THIRDS! :) Only thing I changed is adding shredded Mexican blend of Kraft cheese on top to melt & brown. We have decided this will be one of our 'family favorites'! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Perry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
really good when i changed a couple things. i added shreadded mex cheese, parsley flakes & paprika to the ricotta mixture. cut down the water to 1&half cups. added cumin, chili powder garlic powder, salt, pepper to the meat mixture.used corn tortillas, lightly browned on both sides. & topped with shreadded mex cheese. my kids & i liked alot. my husband said it was just o.k. i will make it again, maybe sneak in some refried beans next time. i did like the turkey too. have never cooked with ground turkey before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I added extra cheddar cheese and a layer of salsa as well. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is an awesome dish and super easy. I had to make a few changes because of what I had on hand but I have know doubt it would be delicious as written (except for the water I would take this out completely). Mine was really runny and I didn't add any water just the juice from the tomatoes. An added plus was my 5 and 2 year old loved it. The changes I made were sour cream instead of ricotta, no eggs, I added a layer of black beans (drained), and 1 can of Mexicorn instead of the green chiles because I didn't have any and last I used whole wheat tortillas. Really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was an easy dish to prepare. The flavor was yummy, even with low fat dairy products. I went by the recipe except for swapping out the tomatoes & chilies for 1 can of Rotel. I wasn't sure what to do with all the extra liquid in the meat mixture, but hubby dumped it over the top & it didn't come out soggy. I think I'll use corn tortillas next time...reminds me more of enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was good but I did adjust the amount of taco seasoning (I thought it might be too much because I did not have quite 1.5 lbs. of meat). The rest of the family (picky guy and 4 yr old) really enjoyed it. We will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This was delicious. I did cut back on the water only use maybe 1/2 cup. I also used extra lean beef because I had that on hand. I added a little taco seasoning to the ricotta mixture and a layer of pepper jack cheese in the middle and on top. Very good the next day, too! Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States