Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was just okay...a one time meal to use up Ricotta cheese that we had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA
Photo by ap6817
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Muy Perfecto!!! I loved it. I followed the recipe to a T, and just add sour cream when served. My entire family loved it! It was very fulfilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ap6817

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Very good - I omit a star because I changed it a bit after the initial go-around. I didn't care for the ricotta (personal preference) and so used shredded mozz/cheddar instead. Also, I use a little hot salsa in addition to the veggies listed - gives it a little oomph. Good basic recipe, though, and I do use it quite frequently. It's also good cut in small squares as an app on game day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This was an easy meal to prepare and my entire family LOVED it! Even my picky eater asked for THIRDS! :) Only thing I changed is adding shredded Mexican blend of Kraft cheese on top to melt & brown. We have decided this will be one of our 'family favorites'! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Perry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
really good when i changed a couple things. i added shreadded mex cheese, parsley flakes & paprika to the ricotta mixture. cut down the water to 1&half cups. added cumin, chili powder garlic powder, salt, pepper to the meat mixture.used corn tortillas, lightly browned on both sides. & topped with shreadded mex cheese. my kids & i liked alot. my husband said it was just o.k. i will make it again, maybe sneak in some refried beans next time. i did like the turkey too. have never cooked with ground turkey before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I added extra cheddar cheese and a layer of salsa as well. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is an awesome dish and super easy. I had to make a few changes because of what I had on hand but I have know doubt it would be delicious as written (except for the water I would take this out completely). Mine was really runny and I didn't add any water just the juice from the tomatoes. An added plus was my 5 and 2 year old loved it. The changes I made were sour cream instead of ricotta, no eggs, I added a layer of black beans (drained), and 1 can of Mexicorn instead of the green chiles because I didn't have any and last I used whole wheat tortillas. Really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was an easy dish to prepare. The flavor was yummy, even with low fat dairy products. I went by the recipe except for swapping out the tomatoes & chilies for 1 can of Rotel. I wasn't sure what to do with all the extra liquid in the meat mixture, but hubby dumped it over the top & it didn't come out soggy. I think I'll use corn tortillas next time...reminds me more of enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was good but I did adjust the amount of taco seasoning (I thought it might be too much because I did not have quite 1.5 lbs. of meat). The rest of the family (picky guy and 4 yr old) really enjoyed it. We will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This was delicious. I did cut back on the water only use maybe 1/2 cup. I also used extra lean beef because I had that on hand. I added a little taco seasoning to the ricotta mixture and a layer of pepper jack cheese in the middle and on top. Very good the next day, too! Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States