Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Delicious! I eliminated the ricotta cheese and added scattered tsps. of sour cream on 2 layers. Topped it with tex-mex cheese. We are vegetarian so I used soy crumbles, made this dish for meat eating guests and they all loved it! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
The tortillas were soggy because there was so much fluid. I was reallly upset!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sun City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
this is an outstanding recipe! even if youdon't modify it to your taste it is great! If you don't like Mexican than this is not a recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boscobel, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I did not like this dish at all. The ricotta cheese gave it a weird texture. BIG let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaraLynnCaldwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Yum! I have made this several times and we love it! Used ground turkey, corn tortillas, and added refried beans as a layer as others have suggested. Great as leftovers for lunches too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
needs more - more cheese. Very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Very high in carbs and had to double the meat but it tasted good. A unique combination of flavors but it still left me longing for more flavor. For us it'll stay on the once every 6-9 months list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Imperial Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I'm sorry, but this just did not work for me. Ricotta cheese and mexican just don't go together. I tried it, thinking it would be one of those weird combinations that would just 'zing'. But it didn't. I think, if you make this, you should omit the ricotta and eggs and substitute layering some type of mexican cheese in it's place. Possibly mix the mexican cheese with the sour cream and salsa and use it as a layer. Also, you need to spread a little of the meat mixture on the bottom of the dish before beginning your layers. Otherwise, your bottom tortillas will be crunchy and hard, and the others will be soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I made this last night, and it was great! My husband had two huge pieces, and said it was definitely a keeper. I did make a few adjustments though: - Sauteed some minced garlic in the skillet with a little olive oil before adding the ground turkey - Added some paprika, onion powder, pepper and cumin to the ground turkey while it was in the skillet -I omitted the green onions, because my husband won’t eat them. -Instead of the can of tomatoes and can of chilis, I added two cans of Rotel with chilis. Because this was a little more than the recipe called for, and was undrained, I only added about ½ cup of water instead of the 2 cups the original recipes calls for. This was the right move, because it was just saucey enough. More water would have turned it into a soupy mess. - I used half part-skim ricotta and half low-fat cottage cheese, to cut down on calories. - And like others had mentioned, I spread the 8 tortillas on a baking sheet and put them in the preheated oven for about 5 minutes while getting the other ingredients ready. This made them nice and baked without being too dry. - Finally, I also added some shredded Mexican cheese to the very top of the lasagna, along with some jalapeno slices. Delicious!! Next time, I might try adding some corn and black beans to the meat mixture, to give it some added veggie substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was easy to make and quite good. I added a can of rotel with lime and cilantro to my meat and also added some of the taco seasoning to the ricotta mixture. Next time I'll add black beans and corn. My kids ate it so I was pleased. I didn't use as much water as called for, just eyeballed it and didn't use the onions either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States