Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Quick, easy, and delicious! I used a fresh jalapeno with a little chicken broth instead of the can of green chile peppers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This was very strange. There was too much egg, so it reminded me of Migas (a Mexican breakfast dish). The 2 cups of water is unnecessary, it just made the tortillas soggy. Apparently my tortillas were too big, because I could only fit 4, and there was too much cheese mixture in relation to the amount of meat. I skipped the sour cream and salsa, because I wasn't sure what the point of it was, other than extra calories. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Toddler and family approved! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I loved this basic recipe idea. I changed it quite a bit though. Without alterations, this recipe lacks the 'kick' I look to Mexican food for. I took the advise of many previous reviews. First, I mixed salsa with refried beans and sread it over the tortilla as the bottom layer. here you add quite a lot of flavor and can vary it in spicyness depending on the salsa heat level you use. Second, I used two lbs of ground turkey, I like more meat. Third, I added chilli powder, paprika, amd cumin to the ricotta cheese. Lastly I added a mexican blend shredded cheese as the last layer in each section and on the top of the final product. Topped it with a dollop of sour cream, more salsa, and chopped avacado. One more great thing about this recipe... it was better as a leftover. I recommend making it the day before and heating up individual pieces in the microwave. Serve over a bed of lettuce and dress with whatever you like on top (other suggestions to try: jalapenoes, black bean and corn mix, or enchilada sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUV2CUK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was good. I used a beef/turkey blend. I also added a bag of southwest corn, and since I live in Wisconsin, some shredded Mexican cheese to top it all off. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I give this a 3 star. It wasn't awesome, but just ok. All the ingredients sound very tasty together but something got missed with this recipe. It was terribly dry without the sour cream/salsa mix too. Not sure if I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
It was very tastey and we will make this a part of our meal choice from now on. We did have to make slight adjustments on the meat. We used 2 lbs. of turkey because we did not know wha to do with the rest (we buy 1lb. tubes like sausage) and thus additional seasoning such as granulated garlic, black pepper, and chili powder were added. I am probably slow but I did not see the point with the side combination of salsa and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I made this recipe for my father on his birthday because he said he wanted mexican or italian food. I added the two eggs with a little hesitation to the ricotta. May I say, my gut instincts were right. The two eggs made the whole dish come out like a mexican quiche. I absolutely HATE the texture of eggs, especially in a mexican dish! This recipe would be much better if you just left the eggs out completely. I am not sure who in their right mind rated this dish with even more than one star. I made it again another night, but used cream cheese instead of ricotta and no eggs. Delicious. This recipe should be removed so it doesn't fool anyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I used ground beef, yellow onion, 1/4 water, no greed chilies, no ricotta. Looks like I made my own recipe:) I put my onions in with my ground beef as I browned it. I added 1/4 water with my taco seasoning then added my tomatoes. I warmed the flour tortillas, put a layer on greased cake pan, then dollops of sour cream and spread it out. then the meat mixture. I then put a layer of corn/Bushes black beans mixture, then a layer of shreaded cheese. I repeated once, baked at 400 for 30 min then broiled for a short time to brown the top. Loved this recipe and my mods:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Delicious! I eliminated the ricotta cheese and added scattered tsps. of sour cream on 2 layers. Topped it with tex-mex cheese. We are vegetarian so I used soy crumbles, made this dish for meat eating guests and they all loved it! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States