Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
LOVE THIS DISH! This the 2nd time I've made it and my husband really, really really likes. I don't use store bought Taco Mix. The first time I made it I didn't have any so I used a recipe from allrecipes.com. The homemade mix was so easy to make this second time I chose to do the same thing. I used a can of Rotel Original for the can of tomatoes. Thanks for a simple to make and delicious to eat dish. Next time I'm gonna try whole wheat tortillias.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Absolutely FABULOUS!! I am not a cook/baker but this was super easy. I made it would ground beef instead of turkey. My husband came back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made this for my boyfriend and I the other night, and while I am still impressed with the idea, some tweaking needs to be done. The Ricotta didn't go over well AT ALL. My boyfriend said it generally ruined the whole dish, not really fitting in with any of the Mexican flavors and being this dense layer in the middle. I don't know what I'd replace it with -- guac, maybe? I didn't care for it either. Also, maybe it was the fact that I used 93/7 lean turkey, but there was no flavor to it, even with the taco seasoning that we love. I would use beef or pork next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyQuinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phillips, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Not worth making in my opinion. I felt like I had to add a ton of veggies/seasonings in order to make it at all tasty and worth the effort. I added seasoning from a Mexican chicken casserole recipe I had in the cupboard, re-fried beans, corn (It's basically a whole new recipe). It was definitely edible after the extra effort! Yet, the ricotta ruined it..and it was too runny. Sigh*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Elisabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is very simple and sooo good. My family and friends request this one a lot. I substitute ground beef. Also, I only use about a cup of water instead of two. Try it... you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I enjoyed this, although it was my gotta use up leftovers in the fridge meal, so I didn't exactly adhere to the recipe. I used corn tortillas soaked in some chicken broth because I find that making a casserole out of flour just gets them too soggy. I picked this recipe to use the ricotta and I'm not sure I enjoyed it in there...it seemed out of place, but again, since I didn't follow the recipe exactly, I'm going to rate on what it would have been, rather than what it was. I added refried beans which competed with the ricotta. Next time I'll use one or the other. Also added some left over fried rice, some fresh garden veggies and the tomatoes and salsa were home canned...like I said...a leftover casserole night. Thanks for the idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I thought this was a very Yummy dish! I used Taco flavored ground turkey and did not use the 2 cups of water. I also added Black beans drained and rinsed and Black Olives, garlic salt and pepper to taste into my meat mixture. I added extra cheese and garlic salt and a pinch of salt and a big dash of pepper in with the eggs and ricotta. I used cooking spray in my glass baking dish before I started to layer things. The bottom layer was nice and crispy. I would make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irrigon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is a very forgiving recipe you can tailor to your own tastes/needs. There doesn't seem to be any taco seasoning on the market that doesn't have spices or natural/artificial flavors, so I sauteed the ground turkey with Texas ranch that doesn't use corn, gluten, artificial/natural, MSG, spices, etc. I cut up fresh tomatoes, omitted the eggs and used pepperjack instead of ricotta. Used a 9x3" casserole dish and cut 4 tortillas in half and placed them so that the straight edge was on the outside. Next time I will use more tortillas, because it left a gap at the top and bottom. Quick and easy - kids said it tasted like nachos. Score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I made this last week when we had friends over for dinner. Everyone loved it! Will be making it again on Monday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central Square, New York, USA
Living In: Farmington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I tried this on a whim one night and everyone loved it. I mean LOVED it to where there were NO leftovers. I even added more of each ingredient. I also shared the recipe with friends and their families loved it as well. FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunney915

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lithia, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States