Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made several of the changes recommended below...omitted the water, added garlic powder to the ground turkey, mixed 1 can of refried beans with 1 jar of salsa to create more layers in the lasagna, and added a few layers of shredded cheese. However, it was still a little bland and a little too soupy for us. It wasn't bad, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This recipe is DELICIOUS!! I listened to the suggestion of many reviewers and omitted water from the recipe I also added refried beans YUMMMMM! The beans are a little tough to spread around especially when there is other stuff underneath so I added a splash of chicken broth to them so it would be eaiser to spread around. I also added a little adobo to the turkey while it cooked. I hardly ever make the same thing twice in week but my husband begged me to make another one two days later so I made him one. After dinner I fell asleep and the next morning I couldn't find the leftovers anywhere. HE ATE THE WHOLE THING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was good, but will make again. I may have made a small mistake and cooked off more of the liquid than needed. I thought it would be too runny but it turned out a little dry. mind you the instructions did not say to cook off liquid, I decided to. I will make again but not cook turkey mixture too long after adding all ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was really good and everyone liked it, but I didn't have taco seasoning on hand so I used fajita seasoning. It still tasted great, and I couldn't believe how quick it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
A very good recipe. Made it for friends and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norway, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very easy and tasty recipe. A good one to be creative with and personalize according to your family's tastes. The ricotta cheese layer really adds something (a little cilantro in it was good too }. My husband even liked it and he normally doesn't like mexican food. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This recipe is great! I can't believe how simple it is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Yum! Used ground chuck instead of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Great recipe, I also changed it a bit. The most wonderful change was mashing up an avocado into the ricotta. Turned out a fantastic light green color. Changes I made: Added avocado to the ricotta, No water, Mixed refried black beans and salsa as a layer on its own, Chopped red peppers into the meat mixture while roasting, Added layers of sliced cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oddible

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very good-follow suggestions to nix extra water (maybe 3/4C, just depends on canned veggies used) and add a layer of beans/salsa. Also used Ro-tel instead of individual cans of green chiles and tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States