Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made several of the changes recommended below...omitted the water, added garlic powder to the ground turkey, mixed 1 can of refried beans with 1 jar of salsa to create more layers in the lasagna, and added a few layers of shredded cheese. However, it was still a little bland and a little too soupy for us. It wasn't bad, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This recipe is DELICIOUS!! I listened to the suggestion of many reviewers and omitted water from the recipe I also added refried beans YUMMMMM! The beans are a little tough to spread around especially when there is other stuff underneath so I added a splash of chicken broth to them so it would be eaiser to spread around. I also added a little adobo to the turkey while it cooked. I hardly ever make the same thing twice in week but my husband begged me to make another one two days later so I made him one. After dinner I fell asleep and the next morning I couldn't find the leftovers anywhere. HE ATE THE WHOLE THING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was good, but will make again. I may have made a small mistake and cooked off more of the liquid than needed. I thought it would be too runny but it turned out a little dry. mind you the instructions did not say to cook off liquid, I decided to. I will make again but not cook turkey mixture too long after adding all ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was really good and everyone liked it, but I didn't have taco seasoning on hand so I used fajita seasoning. It still tasted great, and I couldn't believe how quick it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
A very good recipe. Made it for friends and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norway, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very easy and tasty recipe. A good one to be creative with and personalize according to your family's tastes. The ricotta cheese layer really adds something (a little cilantro in it was good too }. My husband even liked it and he normally doesn't like mexican food. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This recipe is great! I can't believe how simple it is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Yum! Used ground chuck instead of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Great recipe, I also changed it a bit. The most wonderful change was mashing up an avocado into the ricotta. Turned out a fantastic light green color. Changes I made: Added avocado to the ricotta, No water, Mixed refried black beans and salsa as a layer on its own, Chopped red peppers into the meat mixture while roasting, Added layers of sliced cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oddible

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very good-follow suggestions to nix extra water (maybe 3/4C, just depends on canned veggies used) and add a layer of beans/salsa. Also used Ro-tel instead of individual cans of green chiles and tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States