Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
There wasn't too much liquid in this (think of how much you use when adding seasoning packets to ground meat!) and it was a huge hit at our house. I did add refried beans because I'm into them. It was better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
The flavor of this dish was just okay. I had some issues with this recipe. I always like to follow a recipe and review it as it has been submitted. Some people make so many changes it isn't the same recipe anymore. That having been said, I wouldn't recommend this recipe. The meat mixture was very watery and when it came time to serve, the bottom two tortillas stuck to the pan. Some type of topping would have been nice too- Cheese or something. All in all, it wasn't bad, just not good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I added a 1/4 cup of corn Tablespoon of crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TJ Jaskolka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very good! My boyfriend and I loved this meal. It was easy to make! I added refried beans to the layers and sliced black olives. I also did not use the water. Loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Very Quick, and tasty, I don't usually try new dishes and serve to company first time, but I did this one. Was finished from prep to cook in 45 minutes. Added shredded cheddar to the top... was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
My family loves this! We eat a lot of Southwestern food, and this is a cool, different way to use tortillas. I have cooked it with ground turkey, beans, and lentils, and they're all good. (Precook the beans/lentils and then start the recipe where you stir in taco seasoning.) I usually skip the green onions and the sour cream/salsa dip step. Instead, I sprinkle with shredded cheddar after it comes out of the oven or serve with sour cream. Note: If you try this as a freezer meal, use corn tortillas instead of flour. The flour tortillas become very soggy after being defrosted. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This really is a delicious and versatile recipe. This is the 3rd time I've made it now and this is how we've decided we like it best: 2 10 inch tortillas & then 1 halved tortilla on each side (straight side to the edge of the pan). Half the meat mixture (2 lb ground turkey, diced yellow onion, taco seasoning, 1 14.5 can diced tomatoes & 1 can rotele), 2 cups shredded monterey/colby. Another layer of tortillas. Next is the ricotta with 1 egg and 1 4 oz can chilies whipped together and a can of corn over the top. Another layer of tortillas. Rest of meat with 2 small cans sliced black olives. Another layer of tortillas. 8 oz sour cream + 8 oz salsa mixed over the top of that, topped with 2 cups of mexi-cheese and sliced green onions on top. Bake as directed. This makes enough to feed myself and 3 growing boys with plenty to take into work to share. Thanks so much for the ideas and the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Excellent! I used corn tortillas, added refried beans, and put shredded mexican cheese on top. I used about 1 1/2 cups of water and let it simmer a little before putting the dish together. I did not have too much liquid at all. It would have been too dry had I not added the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENEESSELAH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Just wanted to say thanks for this easy, tasty recipe. I omitted the water but instead added 1 can of tomato sauce and spiced it up with a little tabasco for some kick. I also added a layer of refried beans on top of each tortilla layer per other user reviews. I also threw in some mexican shredded cheese... definitely worth making again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
It was pretty good but I made a sauce to top it the last 10 minutes of baking. A mixture of green salsa, sour cream and swiss cheese..good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States