Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
YUM!! I added a little sprinkle of shredded cheddar on the top too, and layered in corn and black beans. Turned out great, destined to be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Cotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Omg....this is soooo good. I added the refried beans and the cheddar/jack cheese & it turned out sooo good. My whole family loved it. It tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Not Mexican and not lasagna. Tried to spice it up but that really didn't help. If you're really looking for a spicy lasagna keep looking, this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Wow this was a great recipe along with easy and fast. I revised it using ground beef, added chili powder; salt; pepper; granulated garlic powder; cup water (used water from rinsing cans); 1 egg with ricotta cheese and green chili mixture; adding 1 can rotele with diced tomatoes; 2 (10-inch) tortillas per layer, halved tortilla on each side (straight side to the edge of the pan). I did not use the sour cream or salsa in recipe, instead I served on the side with corn. My family really liked this. I'm planning on making it for Super Bowl Sunday, and emailing my recipe version to my daughter and sisters to make for their families. Thanx so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
We didn't care for this at all. It may have been somewhat better if we'd decreased the water to 1/2 cup, but the 2 cups took forever to boil off to the point where I could transfer the meat mixture to the pan. The texture of the ricotta cheese and egg was not appealing to us at all. Put soggy taco shells on top of that from excessive water in the meat sauce and you do not have an appetizing dish. Again, maybe to reduce the water to 1/2 cup like that other lady would have made a difference, but this wasn't something I'd bother with again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This recipe is delicious!! I had a small dinner party and decided on a Mexican theme and everyone loved this dish. I followed the recipe exact and had excellent results. On the plate with the lasagna I served a bed of shredded iceberg lettuce with a dollup of the sour cream/salsa mixture--it looked as good as it tasted. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I love Mexican lasagna but I make it slightly different. Instead of the Rotel and the diced tomatoes I use my favorite salsa. Ricotta and eggs aren't necessary either. Try using a layer of sour cream. Top with beef mixture (ground beef is what my family likes) and top that with a layer of Mexican cheese blend or cheddar. It's much better and actually tastes Mexican. Layer the top with salsa and cheese and when it's done cooking sprinkle with cilantro or green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
take the turkey out add real meat and it is oh so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Being a vegetarian, I used "Veggie Ground Round" instead of the meat. I also used cottage cheese instead of ricotta, since it was what I had, and that seemed to work well. It was delicious, and my meat-eating boyfriend also loved it. We couldn't stop at 2 pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
My family really liked this recipe. I think next time I will put beans and cheese as a layer. The Chicken mixture is really good and I would eat it alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States