Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I wanted to love this b/c it was so easy and ingredients are easily found... and I did! I used 1 lb. ground beef, 1/2 cup water, and 2 t chili powder + 1/2 t cumin (sub for taco seasoning); also added 2t chili pwd + 1/2 t cumin to 1 small can of refried beans. A layer that I don't think is optional. I'm not sure if the ricotta and egg add anything so I might try ommitting it and replace it with cheese. Update: leftovers resulted in soggy tortillas. I'm going to blame the ricotta. Will definately opt for layer of cheese instead of ricotta & egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThnkThn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Wow, dare I say this is even better than Italian lasagna? I made it with ground pork (excellent) and to solve the debate once and for all about the water, simply use the LARGE can of tomatoes (28 oz) instead of the 14-1/2 oz size. (Who buys that scrawny size anyway!) and just leave out the water altogether, you won't need it with the bigger can of tomatoes. I also did what others suggested and added a can of beans for more nutrients and definitely add some shredded Mexican cheese on top before baking. Bake some corn muffins to go with it. So glad I have a little piece left, it is all mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was great! I was worried about it not requiring any shredded cheese, but it wasn't needed;The ricotta gave all the cheesy flavor needed! My husband couldn't even tell it was ground turkey instead of ground beef! We will definately make this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was very good. Had to follow the suggestion of leaving out the extra 2 cups of water. If it had been noodles uncooked, the extra water would have made sense! However, flour tortillas are not that forgiving and it would have been soggy. Overall, this recipe was very good tasting. I doubled it and used two pans; froze one for another day! Thanks for the great recipe! Even my picky eaters raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was dee-lish! The turkey part was watery so I simmered for around 20 minutes until thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mo429s

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I don't even like vegetables! Instead of tomatoes etc, I just used salsa. I tore the tortillas up to make cutting later easier. And I put a layer of canned refried beans above the first tortilla layer. The liquid was good to keep the tortillas soft. And just after it started bubbly, I put a layer of cheese. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
no wow factor but good. i used beef instead of turkey and added chili powder and garlic pepper while cooking. also added refried beans and cheddar cheese to layers. baked 20 min total after 15 added cheddar and colby jack on top. Cheese is def a must!!!! will def fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
It was very tasty. Everyone really enjoyed it. I read the other reviews and did 1/2 with beans to see how it would taste so everyone enjoyed the option of with or without beans. I only used 1/2 of the taco pack but added pepper to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This is a very simple and fun recipe. I love Mexican food and I love Italian food. What a great combination. I followed the recipe to the letter, I just added mozerella and cheddar cheese to give it a little more umph!! I served it to a friend who is very picky about food and her response was: It was the bomb! Very quick, easy and it's tasty to boot. Enjoyed this recipe tremendously
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States