Smothered Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I used Cream of Celery and Cream of Mushroom w/roasted garlic soups (one each)(that's all I had), used really good frozen (comercial) meatballs. Added some onion powder and good (drinkable not cooking stuff) dry sherry. I only went 4 stars cuz I broke the rule. I changed things before I made it the first time. Will definetly make it again .. new hubby liked it! I too used Kichen bouquet ... maybe the good sherry counter acted the acidity ... Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptainLadyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ashford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This is a fabulous recipe! I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out great. My four year old loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I have made this dish twice now and it is very good. I modified it a bit to cut down in preparation time. I use frozen meatballs that have been thawed and I can have this meal on the table in forty-five minutes. A real time saver when I have to work all day and need something quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Call me crazy, but I wasn't impressed. I think I will try again and add a little of the soup to the meat mixture, also add some garlic powder, as far as the sauce, I will totally leave out the browning sauce and add an envelope of dry onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
EVERYONE IN MY FAMILY REALLY LIKED THIS!I WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN! SMALLER MEATBALLS WOULD BE GREAT FOR A POTLUCK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I say slap these puppies in a bucket of tangy spaghetti sauce and we are good to go!! The sauce just didn't do the meatballs justice. Yick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
Wonderful! I added waterchestnuts and garlic to the meatballs and decreased the cooking time to 15 minutes, then 20 minutes in the sauce. This cured the "dryness" problem. My happy little family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Stafford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
I made this recipe using frozen meatballs and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
The meatballs were kinda dense, probably because no liquid was required. They were good, but dry & dense. I did not care for the taste of the sauce. I thought the browning flavor(I used Kitchen Bouquet) was too strong. Will not make this again. There are better meatball recipes to be found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
I don't really care for the sauce in this recipe at all, but the meatballs are fantastic! Like another reviewer, I make the meatballs for spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs

A quick and easy recipe for sweet and tangy meatballs.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States