Smothered Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
These are yummy! Prep takes a little time but it's not difficult at all (my 8 yr old daughter helps make the meatballs) and the results are worth it! I've made this twice, the second time leaving out only the green pepper (I used a little extra onion to help make up the volume of the missing ingredient) at the request of my husband and it was still great! I also made more sauce because my husband loves it, and he's NOT a sour cream fan! I used 3 cans of golden mushroom, a 16 oz container of sour cream, an 8 oz package of fresh mushrooms sliced and about 3/4 cup of milk. I also add a little garlic & onion powder to the sauce to jazz it up, and leave out the salt because it seems unnecessary with all that soup. This is something I know I'll be making for years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This is a good recipe.I just put my own little touches to my families taste.I did not have any bread crumbs so I made my own bread crumbs by toasting a few slices then placing them in my chopper and just added some italian seasoning.I also added worchestershire sauce and garlic powder to the meat.For the sauce I used 3 cans of cream of mushroom,1 large can sliced mushrooms,about 1 1/2 cups milk,1 tbsp kitchen bouqet and then some salt,pepper,onion and garlic powder.After baking the meetballs for about 30 min. I used paper towels to remove drippings off the meatballs then I placed them in a 9x13 dish,completely covered them with the sauce and baked about 45 min.Served over egg noodles. Turned out really good I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Very good flavor! I made the meatballs and then put them in a crockpot with the sauce for about 4 hrs. (I didn't add the sour cream until the last 1/2 hr.) The sauce was very rich, almost too rich, and a little thicker than I am used to. I think next time I will try less sour cream and possibly water instead of milk. Overall, excellent!..my boyfriend loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Call me crazy, but I wasn't impressed. I think I will try again and add a little of the soup to the meat mixture, also add some garlic powder, as far as the sauce, I will totally leave out the browning sauce and add an envelope of dry onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I must admit I was a bit skeptical but I was in a pinch and had all ingredients on hand. I followed the directions to a tee and it came out wonderfully! Very quick and easy! I will definitely be adding this to the recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
DRY!!!! Either half the meatball recipe OR double the soup recipe. The flavor is good, but this recipe really needs more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
THIS RECIPE WAS EASY TO MAKE. I ADDED A LITTLE GARLIC AND SEASONING SALT TO ADD A LITTLE MORE FLAVOR AND THEY WERE DELICIOUS. I ALSO USED 1LB GROUND TURKEY AND 1LB GROUND BEEF. MY FAMILY ENJOYED THEM. WILL MAKE AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maywood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
My husband says these are the best meatballs he's ever tasted...he just loves the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Made this for the Eagles/ Redskins game. Nobody was impressed- very little got eaten. Everyone kept saying it was "missing something". Meatballs were not very flavorful (and this was AFTER I added extra seasonings to the meat), and gravy/sauce was bland. If I make this again, and that's a big IF, I would def have to changes things up. OH well, at least the Redskins won!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Very Good! My husband loved it. I couldn't find browning sauce so I used an envelope of brown gravy mix instead. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States