Smothered Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
These are yummy! Prep takes a little time but it's not difficult at all (my 8 yr old daughter helps make the meatballs) and the results are worth it! I've made this twice, the second time leaving out only the green pepper (I used a little extra onion to help make up the volume of the missing ingredient) at the request of my husband and it was still great! I also made more sauce because my husband loves it, and he's NOT a sour cream fan! I used 3 cans of golden mushroom, a 16 oz container of sour cream, an 8 oz package of fresh mushrooms sliced and about 3/4 cup of milk. I also add a little garlic & onion powder to the sauce to jazz it up, and leave out the salt because it seems unnecessary with all that soup. This is something I know I'll be making for years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This is a good recipe.I just put my own little touches to my families taste.I did not have any bread crumbs so I made my own bread crumbs by toasting a few slices then placing them in my chopper and just added some italian seasoning.I also added worchestershire sauce and garlic powder to the meat.For the sauce I used 3 cans of cream of mushroom,1 large can sliced mushrooms,about 1 1/2 cups milk,1 tbsp kitchen bouqet and then some salt,pepper,onion and garlic powder.After baking the meetballs for about 30 min. I used paper towels to remove drippings off the meatballs then I placed them in a 9x13 dish,completely covered them with the sauce and baked about 45 min.Served over egg noodles. Turned out really good I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Very good flavor! I made the meatballs and then put them in a crockpot with the sauce for about 4 hrs. (I didn't add the sour cream until the last 1/2 hr.) The sauce was very rich, almost too rich, and a little thicker than I am used to. I think next time I will try less sour cream and possibly water instead of milk. Overall, excellent!..my boyfriend loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Call me crazy, but I wasn't impressed. I think I will try again and add a little of the soup to the meat mixture, also add some garlic powder, as far as the sauce, I will totally leave out the browning sauce and add an envelope of dry onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I must admit I was a bit skeptical but I was in a pinch and had all ingredients on hand. I followed the directions to a tee and it came out wonderfully! Very quick and easy! I will definitely be adding this to the recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
DRY!!!! Either half the meatball recipe OR double the soup recipe. The flavor is good, but this recipe really needs more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
THIS RECIPE WAS EASY TO MAKE. I ADDED A LITTLE GARLIC AND SEASONING SALT TO ADD A LITTLE MORE FLAVOR AND THEY WERE DELICIOUS. I ALSO USED 1LB GROUND TURKEY AND 1LB GROUND BEEF. MY FAMILY ENJOYED THEM. WILL MAKE AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maywood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
My husband says these are the best meatballs he's ever tasted...he just loves the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Made this for the Eagles/ Redskins game. Nobody was impressed- very little got eaten. Everyone kept saying it was "missing something". Meatballs were not very flavorful (and this was AFTER I added extra seasonings to the meat), and gravy/sauce was bland. If I make this again, and that's a big IF, I would def have to changes things up. OH well, at least the Redskins won!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Very Good! My husband loved it. I couldn't find browning sauce so I used an envelope of brown gravy mix instead. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States